Skip to main content

project life 2015–week 4

sunday: slave labor! layla is now in charge of the downstairs bathroom. yes.008

also sunday: getting my newest project life album set up and a few weeks in!!! after MUCH deliberation, indecision, and other such hemming and hawing, I walked into michaels and found a MIDNIGHT edition clearanced! SOLD! fortunately, midnight is one that I had been seriously considering, and, now that it’s out of the package and into the pages, I LOVE IT!!! I’m so excited for the rest of this year!010

monday: so, he may look cute and innocent, but this dog is a cold-blooded killer… of chickens that is. sunday afternoon was a less than pleasant experience. on saturday, we’d had a fair amount of wind. it had blown open our garden gate, but I forgot about that when I left to walk down the street to my parents’ house. bonez was in the yard when I left, but I didn’t think anything of it. until a half hour later when dave called me and asked if the dog was down there with me. no. panic. scattering to canvas the neighborhood. shane heard frantic chicken noises from the neighbor’s house across the street. uh oh. it was the scene of a massacre. 1 dead, 1 mortally wounded. feathers everywhere… there was cleanup, there was ‘finishing off’, there was humble apologies and exchange of a sum of money, there were plans discussed for rehoming, refencing, retraining… basically anything to appease the neighborhood.018

wednesday: so, slacker parents have owed layla a do-over birthday sleepover, to make up for the disastrous one that didn’t happen on her 9th birthday. so, 6 months later, she decided it was time for us to make good on that… and started leaving signs and notes all over for us to find and not be able to forget to arrange it. 2015-01-27

thursday:

  • me: can I take your picture?
  • shane: why?
  • me: because we are 3 weeks into the new year and there are no pictures of you in the book.
  • shane: so?

this was the best I got as he was running away:036

friday: it happened! layla was able to have her sleepover re-do! and they made some fluffy, fuzzy pillows.058

saturday: this was dave’s company party at the hard rock café. there should be some pictures coming our way from the photographer.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...