Skip to main content

stuff my kids said

tonight, after dinner, I poured myself a glass of wine.
shane: mom, don't do that now, it's your night to walk the dog.
me: I'm going to walk the dog a little bit later.
layla: why don't you just take your wine with you?
me: NO! that would be a little bit...
layla: dangerous!?
me: no, not dangerous... I think "weird" was the word I was going for.
layla: oh. well why don't you just pour it in a travel mug and take it with you?
me: (smh) oh, good gracious... - summer '14

Micah has a loose tooth that is starting to stick out and make him look like a hillbilly. I checked it to see how loose it was and told Micah he needed to wiggle it a bunch so it will come out. He got all mad and told me to stop doing it. I asked him why he didn't want it to come out and he yelled, "Because I have too much money!!!" Bummer of a problem to have... - summer '14

Me: Why is one of our blankets under the table?
Micah: Oh, I wanted to be a worm. - summer '14

So, today it was Micah's turn to get cavities filled.... While there, the dentist was asking him about the tooth he lost last week, and asked him if he got money from the tooth fairy. He responded that he got EIGHTEEN dollars and he spent it on...
Wait for it...
Candy.
Just further defending my mother of the year status with them. SMH. - spring '14

me: Why are you putting your toothbrush in a sock?
micah: I'm making a slingshot! - spring '14

Me: Have you brushed your teeth?
Layla: Yes... I mean no.
Me: What were you up there for then?
L: Um... Well, I went upstairs, and then I couldn't remember why I was there, so I went in my room and did the Macarena. - spring '14

me: I will make you come inside if you don't stop eating the snowman! - winter '14


micah: what would happen if the angels turned all the houses into restaurants? - winter '12

Micah: Alien astronauts keep their hearts under their legs. - winter '12

Micah (mad at Layla for getting in the car first): I'm done with her! I don't want her anymore!!! - winter '12

Me: Micah, go upstairs and go to bed.
Micah: But I have magic sticks. I'm evil! - winter '12

Me: Micah, hurry up and take your bite.
Micah: Not yet. I have to wait until all my whiskers are gone. - fall '12

We were discussing advent candles and why the 3rd one is pink and Layla piped up with this gem: Well, it's the candle of joy, and everyone brightens up when they feel joyful! - fall '12

me: micah, eat your food.
micah: i can't. it's .
me: what does mean?
micah: it means that pizza isn't good for boys... who are little... who are 5... to eat. - fall '12


micah (looking down the neckline of my shirt: what are those things under your clothes?
me: those are mommy's boobs.
micah: boobs? hahaha. (lifting up his own shirt) i don't have big boobs.
me: no, only women and big girls have boobs.
micah: daddy has small ones. - summer '12

layla (wearing a bunny mask): i want to play little bunny foo foo.
micah (wearing an elephant mask): i want to play elephant poo poo. - spring '12


micah (perfectly timed in a lull at shane's band concert): an avocado is a cucumber. - spring '12

me: go wash your hands.
micah: what got on my hands?
me: germs.
micah: school germs?
me: yeah.
micah: how did they get on my hands?
me: from touching other kids and toys and stuff.
micah: yeah, and girls! - spring '12


layla: i know a hanukkah song now!
me: do you know what hanukkah is?
layla: no, but i know a song! 'dreidel dreidel dreidel, i made it out of clay...' - winter '11

micah: my stomach just said "ouch". - fall '11

layla (watching a football game on tv): dad, i've been wondering about their shoulders. are those big pads? or do they just exercise a lot? - fall '11

shane: hey dad! what's that song that you like? not the annoying song, but that other annoying song that's not so annoying. - fall '11


shane: beans are vegetables.
layla: no they're not.
shane: mom! tell layla beans are vegetables.
me: beans are vegetables.
layla: no they're not.
me: then what are they?
layla: they're beans. (duh)
me: oh. a whole category of food all by itself!
layla: yup! they're NOT vegetables, because who would EVER eat vegetables with pizza!?! - summer '11

Dave: do you want to go to Hawaii in April?
Me: yes! Why?
Dave: to do a triathlon.
Me: no.
Dave: so I can do a triathlon.
Layla: and we can do the conga line!!! - summer '11


layla: mom, if you threw tea in the lake, would it become a lake of tea? - summer '11

Layla: today was fantastic!
Me: you liked watching the parade and riding the bus?
Layla: yes! And the best part was seeing gramma and papa!!! - summer '11


Layla, playing with her liv doll: wow she's beautiful!
Dave: what makes her beautiful?
Layla: her pink dress.
Dave: so if I wear a pink dress, will I be beautiful?
Layla: hysterical giggles. - summer '11

Layla: apparently, california has Hawaii trees, too. - summer '11


me: i'm going to make some vegetables to go with our dinner. what kind of vegetables do you want? peas and carrots?
layla: peas and corn!
micah: bacon!!! - spring '11

micah, sitting on the toilet (to the tune of jingle bells): underwear, underwear, uuunderrrrwear. underwear is so much fun, underwearrrr, hey! - spring '11


me: put down the monster trucks and go get your underwear! - spring '11

layla: i want a pogo stick.
me: pogo sticks are kind of expensive.
layla: but i WANT one!
me: just because you want something doesn't mean you get to have it right away.
layla: when you're super duper rich, will you get me one?
me: sure. as soon as i am, i'll get you one. @@
layla: great!! well you better hurry up and get super duper rich, mom, because i really want a pogo stick. - spring '11


me: layla, stop barking! it's quiet time!
layla: okay mom... meeee-oowwwww... meeeeeeeeeoooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwww...
me: and no meowing either! - spring '11

layla: guess what, mom! me and kylie slid down the wet slide today!
me: oh.
layla: it was really wet! we were being mermaids!
me: and so now you have wet pants?
layla: yeah! it's great! i always wanted to get wet pants at school! - winter '11


layla, pointing at her nipple: what are these things?
me: nipples.
layla: oh yeah, that's right. they tell me that my boobs are coming. - winter '11

me: what does M-I-C-A-H spell?
micah: wuvmuffin.
me: what did you say?
micah: WUVmuffin! - winter '11


micah, 'reading' from the bible: Jesus got something in his mouth. it's ice cream! - winter '11

layla: some time, i'm going to ice skate on jello. so you can skate and lick at the same time! - winter '11

me (going around a corner in the car): hold on to your nuggets! - fall '10

me (teasing): shane, do you have all your clothes picked out for the first day of school?
shane: yeah right. you want me to wear a tuxedo or something? - fall '10


dave (to me): do you want to write names on balls for me? - fall '10

micah: i need a bath.
me: why?
micah: because my pocket's full of money. - summer '10


micah: mommy. i have a question.
me: what is your question?
micah: I DON'T KNOW. i can't get there... i staying home. - summer '10

dave: micah, eat your dinner.
micah (pushing away his plate): no.
dave: how do you keep growing?
micah: because i want to! - summer '10


me: layla, hurry and get buckled up.
layla: why? are the police watching me? - summer '10

i was explaining to layla and micah that we were going to visit uncle loren because he was very sick and would likely die soon.
me: he's going to go to heaven and be with jesus.
micah: he's going to chuck e. cheese's? - spring '10


micah: my shirt's full.
me: your shirt's full?
micah: yes.
me: full of what?
micah: my tummy. - spring '10

layla, to daddy: wouldn't it be cool if we could all dress up like God? - spring '10

micah came up to me with two thermometers in his hand, gave them to me and said, "mommy, you take my peppershirts?" - spring '10

layla (one sunday morning as we were getting ready for church): i wonder what we're going to talk about in sunday school today. probably God. we ALWAYS talk about God. every week, we just talk about God. - spring '10

micah: is dinner ready yet?
me: no, it takes a few hours. are you hungry? what would you like to eat?
micah: cookies.
me: sorry, we don't have any cookies.
micah: butterfly cookies?
me: nope. no cookies.
micah: flower cookies?
me: nope. no cookies.
micah: two cookies?
me:sorry buddy. we don't have ANY cookies.
micah: oh. - spring '10

shane: mom, if i were as tall as 50 cars stacked on top of each other, would i be able to run as fast as a car goes? - spring '10

layla: mommy, micah's dumping water out of the tub!
me (taking the cup away): sorry micah, dumpers don't get to have cups.
shane: wow. that must really hurt when they play baseball! - spring '10

layla had been arguing with me about not wanting to take a bath. as i was in the bathroom filling up the tub, she burst into the room, very importantly, with the bible in her hands, opened it, pointed to the page, and announced very seriously, "see mommy? it says right here, 'no taking baths!'" - winter '10

i had put micah on the toilet because he was starting to poop. while he was sitting there, i noticed that he peed, so i said, "you peed! yay!" and he said, "yay! i win! pee!" and started clapping. - fall '09

layla: it's foggy out this morning.
me: yeah, it is.
layla: we need to get that fog to go away.
me: and how do we do that?
layla: we just get a shovel and go outside and SHOVEL. SHOVEL. SHOVEL. SHOVEL!
me: really? you can make fog go away with a shovel?
layla: yeah. either that or a baseball bat. - fall '09


while shopping at qfc today, layla pulled a package of depends off the shelf and said, 'mommy, can we get this kind of pull-ups?' - winter '09


me: blah, blah, blah, blah, good ideas, blah, blah, blah, blah.
shane: MOM! YOU'RE A GENIUS!!!
me: wow. thanks shane, that's like the nicest thing you've said to me in a while.
layla: MOM! YOU'RE A GREEN DINOSAUR!!!
me and shane: ha ha ha ha... - summer '08


last night dave was watching 'who wants to be a millionaire' on tv. layla walked in and saw the tv and asked, 'what's that?'
dave: it's a game show called 'who wants to be a millionaire'.
layla: oh.
dave: do you want to be a millionaire?
layla: no.
dave: oh, i know. you want to be a billionaire.
layla (yelling): NO!!!! I WANT TO BE A LADY BUG! - spring '08

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...