Skip to main content

people are stupid.

today, upon checkout at the grocery store, i learned the following:

  • angelina walked in on jen and brad!
  • prince william accused camilla of being a drunk!
  • kate has turned from mom to monster!
  • george w. bush is on suicide watch!
  • certain mystery celebrities have had plastic surgery flubs!
  • who is bikini-ready and who is not?
  • paul newman’s mistress admits he loved his wife more!

why do i need to know this?

why is it that tabloids, gossip magazines and “entertainment” tv shows make millions by feeding this crap to the general public?

why is it legal for photographers and reporters to follow people around, stalk them, crash their parties, etc.?

why are these vultures, who make their livings off of dragging people through the mud and making up BS about them, protected by law?

yes, i’m all for freedom of the press. i believe that the government should not control the information that it believe the general public should receive. however, what about privacy? do people have no rights in that area?

seriously! it completely baffles me that this activity is legal! not only that, protected by law!

there are those that say that celebrities, by placing themselves in the public eye, bring this upon themselves. i suppose that has to be taken into consideration when deciding whether or not to become a celebrity (however one goes about doing that), but i don’t really think this is what most people signed up for.

but in all honesty, i can’t completely blame either the celebrity OR the paparazzi. the REAL ones to blame are the general public who gives these people jobs. who fork over hard-earned money to read the smut they print in their magazines. who come home at night and turn on TMZ or any of the other ridiculous “entertainment” shows. if it were not for the american people’s insatiable appetite for all that is distasteful, immoral, hurtful, and generally evil, NONE of these people would be able to continue to produce a product that no one would buy.

why do we feel that anything about these' people’s personal lives is ANY of our business? can we not just enjoy tv shows, movies, etc., appreciate good acting and call it good? why do we need to know who is pregnant, who is cheating, who is dating, who is breaking up, who is gaining weight, who is in rehab, who is happy, who is depressed…

it disgusts me.

Comments

  1. Not saying that I don't agree with you but don't you think that putting one's personal life on a blog could be considered to be in the same category? Checking the blogs of total strangers because we find their lives interesting? I enjoy watching the occasional episode of Jon and Kate even though in my opinion it is the show itself and the popularity they gained by doing the show that is causing their marital problems. You could say that every person that has contributed to that popularity is in part responsible. I may not buy the tabloid but tuning in is probably not any better.
    I agree...it's all so trivial and the "insatiable appetite for all that is...." is totally inappropriate.

    ReplyDelete
  2. okay mary, that was thought provoking...

    and here is my response: no, i don't think it is the same. maybe when the paparazzi start following me around because of the enourmous popularity of my blog, i'll disagree. LOL! but tuning into a show/movie/even blog that someone has produced themselves (or at least given permission to be produced about them) is not wrong, nor is it causing harm to the people you are watching/reading. they put it out there. if they didn't want people to read it or watch it, they wouldn't put it out there. i consider that fair game. what i am referring to is the constant barrage of unsolicited attention and the exploitation of celebrities that seems to come with the territory. i'm not opposed to the entertainment industry (the legitimate side of it), but prying into people's lives to find out things about them which they, themselves, have chosen not to disclose is none of our business, and a complete invasion of privacy.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am in total agreement with you Rachel! If anyone's life ever gets that much more interesting than mine that I have to pay to read their drama, please just shoot me! ;) There is enough "free" drama in my life without having to pay $3-7 for it weekly!

    Although I will say I do have the guilty pleasure of watching shows like John and Kate...BUT don't agree with the "side" publicity from it. The show is edited and put on air with the permission of the family, they show what they want to show and don't show what they don't...whatever problems they have in their marriage is really nobody's business but their own, IF they want to share, fine, whatever but it shouldn't be FORCED upon them...THAT is where the problems really begin!

    Anyway...people need to get a life and leave celebrities alone. They are only people, no different than the rest of us.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It is true...
    I have turned from a mom into a monster.
    With my kids it's not suprising...LOL
    Sorry...couldn't resist!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...