Skip to main content

banana bread recipe

thought i’d share my banana bread recipe on here. i made 4 loaves yesterday ( =1 full recipe) and remembered to take a picture. i love this recipe because it’s super easy to make, and it’s healthy, so i don’t mind the kids having a slice or two for breakfast or a snack throughout the day. micah actually had it for dinner last night, after he woke up from this accidental nap: 002 he had been impatiently waiting to be able to eat some during the whole time it was baking and had a full-out, fall on the floor, hysterical fit when i wouldn’t slice them up the second the loaves were out of the oven. then he fell asleep.

i got this recipe from my dad and i have no idea where he got it, so i can’t give appropriate credit where it is due.

anyway, here’s the recipe (with my inevitable variations noted):

  • 6 VERY ripe, mashed bananas
  • 2 cups sugar (or less if you desire)
  • 1 cup oil (or applesauce)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (or plain + a little vanilla extract and honey)
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 4 cups flour (i do either half white and half whole wheat OR, 1 white and 3 whole wheat)

i beat the bananas in a large bowl with a handmixer first and then add the rest of the wet ingredients, then the dry. mix well. if you have 4 loaf pans, you’re lucky. use them all. i only have 2, so i divide the batter roughly in half and bake them in shifts. grease the pans with oil and bake at 350-360* for 40 –45 minutes. i know that’s vague, but i’ve found that getting them done w/out being too brown on the edges varies from oven to oven. basically, when a toothpick comes out clean, they’re done and if the tops are getting too brown, put some foil over them. cool on a rack. you can also add things like raisins, nuts or chocolate chips, if you so desire.004 of course, if you only want to make 2 loaves, you can easily half the recipe, or if you happen to only have 3 bananas! ;)

i like to make the full recipe when i can because we go through it so fast. i wrap 2 in plastic wrap and foil and then freeze them. i don’t bother freezing the third because a loaf only lasts about a day around here. i made these yesterday afternoon and we’ve already killed one loaf and cut into the second.

note about the bananas: i used to find it difficult to get 6 excessively ripe bananas at the same time, which is how i wound up halving the recipe in the first place. then i started freezing my bananas as soon as they started turning brown. i would peel them and put them in a freezer bag. then i got lazy and started just tossing them in the freezer, peel and all. this actually works out much better! they’re kind of hard (and unpleasant) to peel when they’re frozen, but i discovered that if you run them under a little warm water, the peel comes off quite easily – especially if you go from the bottom up, and it helps thaw them a little too. this way they’re not all frozen together in a big glob, which takes forever to thaw. i am able to start beating them as soon as they are all peeled and in the bowl.

as an interesting side note, i don’t actually know from personal experience if this banana bread is good or not, since i don’t care for banana bread and never eat it. i assume, however, that it is good because it disappears fast! ;)

happy baking!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...