Skip to main content

today…

my alarm went off today at 6:10. A full 40 minutes later than usual. Sick days (when you’re not dying and you actually have a pre-arranged sub) are awesome. I went downstairs, poured some coffee with eggnog, made a sandwich for shane, let the dog in, turned on the christmas tree lights, and sat down to catch up on all the excitement that is my FB newsfeed. The highlight is always the “on this day” reel. It’s fun to relive who I used to be. I also read about 2 different friends who have stomach flu going through their houses and made me want to put a plastic haz-mat bubble around the house and not let anyone out.

took meds to rid myself of stupid pink eye and sinus infection which are the reason behind my second sick day in a row.

after shane left for the bus, I woke up my other kids. micah is still sleeping in his tent. he says he doesn’t want to take it down until the first day of winter. you know, because camping in the winter is not the best idea. layla was not so enthusiastic to get up. it might be the cold she has. or it might be the fact that she was up until 10:45 last night, reading HP4.

rejoiced at the discovery that I did not have to make lunches because today’s hot lunch was something my kids both consider edible. waffles.

one kid on the bus. the other dropped off, 5 minutes late – as usual, to marimba practice.

came home and wrote email to sniffly kid’s teacher, explaining why I sent her to school and why she is tired, and basically called myself out as a bad parent. I hope she gets that I joke a lot. she probably doesn’t. I assume that a lot, incorrectly.

coffee.

internetting.

did a little O2 business stuff. messaged with hubby.

tried to figure out how I could maintain my income without maintaining my job.

discovered that bunches of our library books are overdue. frantically renewed and tried to find the ones that can’t be renewed. Still can’t find (or renew) some my little pony book. grr. story of my life.

went to library. returned books.

checked out books.

went to walgreens.

spent way too long contemplating eye shadow colors (mostly because I know nothing about that, except that apparently I should wear blue to bring out the brown in my eyes – something about being opposite on the color wheel). finally settled on 2 different palettes. 2 eyeliner pencils. 1 mascara… thanks pink eye. I totally wanted to replace all my eye makeup.

back home. loaded and ran dishwasher. grilled a salami and cheese sandwich on sourdough. didn’t butter the bread because I hate that it makes my fingers all slimy when I eat it. washed my plate and pan I used to grill the sandwich.

washed a load of towels in dawn dish soap and vinegar. I hate musty, stinky towels.

put in eye drops.

set up to do an online barre3 workout. selected 40 minute workout. cast to our projector in the living room. internet cut out 3 times. lame.

drank water.

browsed expensive athletic underwear online. was dismayed to find more of the same stuff I’ve already tried and don’t like… thongs, bikinis, laser-cut hipsters, laser-cut “cheekies” (seriously. what is behind this movement. why on earth would I WANT to buy underwear that covers part, but not all, of my butt and is intended for my “cheeks” to hang out. HOW IS THAT COMFORTABLE???? and furthermore, if the underwear does not come down and “hook” under my butt cheeks, what could possibly keep it from creeping up into nether regions where I do not want it???)

wondered what the female version of compression shorts is.

found compression shorts.

did not spend $30 on them.

continued to wonder what female athletes wear for underwear that doesn’t chafe, ride up, floss their hoo-haw, OR look terrible under spandex (fear the VPL!). it’s a perpetual problem.

browsed expensive yoga wear on lululemon site.

browsed expensive running wear on lululemon site.

concluded that if I spent enough money on attractive running wear, I might stay warm and dry and be slightly more motivated to run in our crappy weather.

probably not, but I’d look cute.

shane got home and I wanted to look productive, so I leapt from the computer before he walked in and ran to the kitchen where I nonchalantly began unloading the dishwasher – like that’s what I’d been doing all day…

“how was school, etc.”

lectured him about cleaning the cat box and other such responsibilities because “I can’t do everything around here” and all that…

put towels in the dryer.

dragged the vacuum cleaner upstairs and vacuumed. put fans in closet next to attic entry. it’s closer than where they’ve been since the end of summer, which was against the wall in my bedroom. baby steps.

reassembled hungry hungry hippos game that has been kicked multiple times recently because it resides in my bedroom doorway. not sure why.

blogged.

kids got home.

peace out.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...