Skip to main content

the results are IN!

and not exactly what I expected…

which, I guess, is the point of actually having the test done in the first place.

so, I have been anxiously awaiting the results of my food panel blood test, to find out what, if anything, I’m allergic to or somehow reacting to. I met with my dr. today to go over the results. which look like this:068

basically, the ones in red caused some sort of reaction when tested on my blood sample. each also has a number, showing the degree of reaction. then, based on the number, it is given a class (1-3). those marked 1 caused a lesser reaction, and those marked 3, caused the greatest reaction.

so, for the next 8 weeks, I have to avoid ALL of the things in red, and then, after meeting with my doctor again, plan to add those things back into my diet, one at a time, to see which of them cause a recognizable reaction (stomach, sinus, migraine, etc.), and which seem to pose no problem to me. when they have been absent from my diet, my system will be more sensitive to them, and make a reaction more pronounced and obvious.

so for now, I will be avoiding:

  • green beans
  • pinto beans (2)
  • cantaloupe
  • cottage cheese (2)
  • swiss cheese
  • chicken
  • crab
  • cow’s milk
  • white potatoes
  • shrimp
  • swordfish
  • wheat
  • baker’s yeast
  • brewer’s yeast
  • yogurt
  • amaranth
  • red beans (3)
  • blackberries
  • casein (3)
  • blue cheese
  • cottonseed (2)
  • cranberries
  • dates
  • goat’s milk
  • papaya
  • sugar beets
  • whey (3)

I indicated the ones that rated 2 or 3. everything else is rated a 1. red beans brought the highest number, which is interesting because I had to think really hard to even remember the last time I’ve eaten red beans. not really a part of my diet. but good to know, as I will definitely avoid them in the future. the second highest numbers went to casein and whey. (if you’re unfamiliar with casein, it’s a protein found in milk.) several of the 1’s had very low numbers, so my doctor felt it was okay for me to have them, but maybe only about once a week for now. these include chicken, cranberries, dates, sugar beets, papaya, and blackberries. the only ones I really care about are the chicken (for real?) and the dates (because they are in my favorite grab and go snack – larabars). I could live without blackberries except in the fall, when they’re dripping off the bushes everywhere you walk, I really want to be able to eat them. sugar beets, I never eat; papaya, VERY rarely; and cranberries, well, I’ll have a small helping at thanksgiving and call it good.

interestingly enough, gluten didn’t show up, but wheat did.

somewhat related to that is the 2 types of yeast. the biggest issue for me with those is not the bread issue, as it is the ‘fermenting’ issue. so, for vinegars, I have to stick to distilled or apple cider, and for alcohols, it’s all tequila and rum! no wine. boo hoo! beer, vodka, whiskey, etc. all out as well, but I can live with that pretty easily… (although, now that I think of it, what are the ingredients of a duck fart??? aagghhh!!)

and, it seems pretty obvious that I will need to give up my yogurt, cheese, and other milk products, including the half and half in my coffee. WAAAHHHH!!! but I have some good leads on acceptable alternatives that I will have to try out and report. I’m also glad I have had a couple of eggnog lattes already this year, because those are out too. boo.

but, with all that said, I’m very much excited about all of this. yes, it seems like a pain, and some of you are probably wondering why the heck I even care about this. it’s not like I break out in hives or have to carry a vial of benedryl or an epipen around with me. I don’t have VIOLENT allergies to anything, that I know of. but, if changing my eating habits could mean I get to say goodbye to the migraines, headaches, stomachaches, wheezing, and chronic sinus congestion I deal with WAY more often than I care to, then it will be TOTALLY worth it.

I’ve already seen improvement with the paleo-influenced changes I’ve made. bloating and lower-digestive tract issues are absent, as well as the random fatigue. I have way more energy, it’s easier to wake up in the morning, and I don’t have that slow, sluggish, weighed down feeling, that I used to have so often. if I could get rid of the rest? holy cow! I think I’d be unstoppable!

so… this will be interesting. the part where I have to feed myself, and still feed the rest of my family, and stay within a reasonable budget is intimidating me a little bit, as are the impending feast-focused holidays. I will definitely be updating on how this whole thing goes, and how I feel!

Comments

  1. Good luck! I hope it helps you out. Even without the "big violent" reactions, chronic fatigue and regular headaches are pretty miserable and I can relate. By the way... duck fart? THAT does NOT sound like something to miss! I have no idea what it is... but doesn't sound good! ;)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...