Skip to main content

chocolate-banana shake

so, I don’t know how many people will be interested in this. angie, maybe.

I’m trying to eliminate enough CRAP from my diet and working on putting into me only that which is healthful and nutritious. I’m kind of skirting paleo eating and just sort of dabbling in it. but the biggest thing I’m trying to get rid of right now is sugar. sugar is TERRIBLE for you. some people probably quake at the very thought of that, but really, for me, it’s not that huge of a deal. I have never had a huge sweet tooth. most of my snacky cravings are in the form of salty junk, rather than sweet.

a little bit ago, I wandered into the kitchen looking for a little something. I remembered that I had some bananas in the fruit bowl, and figured I’d better eat one of them before it got too ripe for me (I’m a little squeamish about bananas and there’s a very narrow window where I can eat them without gagging. it’s not the taste, it’s the texture.) so I peeled myself a banana and was thinking how much I really didn’t enjoy eating bananas, and at the same time, remembered how much a really loved chocolate banana milkshakes. so I threw my peeled banana into a magic bullet cup and decided to see if I could concoct my own!

I didn’t want to use any chocolate syrup. that’s full of artificial crap and is mostly HFCS anyway. so I grabbed my container of cocoa powder that I use like twice a year and when my MIL comes to visit and makes herself ‘ghetto mochas’. I’m contemplating the diary free thing, but not entirely sure how I feel about that at this point, but I have taken to buying almond milk to use in my smoothies. I haven’t drank it straight, so I don’t know how it is by itself. I also only buy the plain, unsweetened kind (as opposed to ‘regular’, vanilla, or chocolate, which all have sugar added to them).

so I mixed up 1 banana, about 8 oz. of almond milk, 1 spoonful (like a regular silverware spoon) of cocoa powder, 1 spoonful of milled flax seed, a dash of vanilla extract (maybe 1/2 tsp), and a little drizzle of honey – maybe 1 tsp (just because I didn’t really want it to be bitter like straight cocoa can be). I mixed it up, not having any idea what to expect. guess what! it’s SO good! it tastes exactly like I wanted it to and could even stand to be a little less sweet. 001     (just imagine a banana into that picture.)

**now for a little disclaimer: I don’t know a lot about ‘cocoa powder’. the I read the ingredients on the back and all it said was “100% cocoa”. does ‘cocoa’ have sugar and/or milk in it? I don’t know. the other thing is that the ‘pure’ vanilla extract has sugar in it. how much, I don’t know, and given that my use of it was pretty minimal, I assume the sugar content was also minimal.**

the substance of it was a little runny. that didn’t bother me, but it wasn’t really ‘milkshake-like’. next time, I might try freezing the banana first to make it a little colder and maybe give it a little more bulk.

but, it was a great snack, with some protein, calcium, and a ton of potassium.

next time you’re having a little chocolate craving, skip the brownies and try this!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...