Skip to main content

what’s in my closet? installment #7 - sweatshirts/layers

this is an area that NEEDS help. the ones I have, I keep because they are what I have and I need them. remember the whole being cold all the time thing? yeah. layers. I need layers. I don’t like almost everything of this type that I own.

first picture:017

  1. napoleon wildcats zip-up (NHS football game): dave got me this sweatshirt because I loved it. I did. but it hasn’t really kept it’s shape. the zipper went bumpy and diagonal, the bottom is stretched out, so it’s kinda wide and square. I keep it because of what it is, but I hardly wear it because it doesn’t look good.
  2. MOMS club zip-up hoodie (MOMS club order): getting the hoodies was actually my idea. in theory I like this, but it has faded and isn’t exactly wonderful from a fashion perspective. I should keep it for the same reason I keep the MOMS club t-shirt.
  3. beige 3/4 sleeve zip-up hoodie (weekenders – via my MIL): I like this, BUT, I don’t like the sleeves. for me, a layer is to keep me warm. if my arms are not warm, I am not warm. this might be functional for me if I lived in a warmer climate. I don’t know. if it is warm enough for me to be in 3/4 or short sleeves, it is pretty much warm enough for me not to need the extra layer. THUS, I don’t wind up wearing this very often.

second picture:029

  1. white 3/4 sleeve cardigan thingy (aeropostal – via ???): not sure where I got this. I wear it with nice sleeveless dresses and such. mostly it’s a summer thing. it’s not warm enough to be an actual cardigan for spring. grrr. why can’t it be warmer around here? anyway, I like it, but it’s limited in use. if what is underneath it is a v-neck or something at all interesting, it looks weird. 
  2. black velour zip-up hoodie (express): I like this, and it’s the most decent looking of all my sweatshirts, but there’s something about the way it fits that is slightly uncomfortable. I think it feels a bit bulky.

so this is clearly an area that I need some help in. outer layers are a BIG necessity with me (either that or a heat lamp), so I will have to do something here.

there’s a purple cardigan at target right now that I have my eye on. I want it to go with my nice dress that I plan on wearing for easter. just waiting for it to go on sale. and yet, it’s 3/4 sleeve. ‘tis my lot in life, I guess. I think I’m part reptile.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...