Skip to main content

monthly progress report – january

i made my bucket list for the year, and i want to do a monthly post, tracking my progress. this way i’ll be aware of the things i’m procrastinating on instead of pushing them out of my head until november, when i realize i’ve only got a month to do everything! so here’s the first installment:

  1. spin my own yarn – nothing too exciting to report, but i do have a couple of leads on people who own spinning wheels and they are aware of my desire to learn.
  2. spend more time in nature. – also, not too much to report, but dave and i are trying to incorporate lengthy walks into our exercise regimine.
  3. read all of jane austen’s books. – nothing really. i’ve got a copy of ‘sense and sensibility’ in the car that i pick up every couple of weeks when i’m waiting for shane, but that’s not really reading it.
  4. can my own veggies/fruits – i figure i’ll get around to this when there’s something growing!
  5. acquire a sewing machine - nope
  6. re-learn to play the piano -nope
  7. exercise regularly (more days of the week than not – really!) – YES! really! so far, so good. need to maintain this!
  8. finish reading the entire bible –still plugging away. done w/ the first 5 of the OT, as well as matthew, mark, acts, and romans. in joshua and luke right now, as well as reading a psalm and a proverb every day. on psalm 98 right now.
  9. make an effort to spend time individually with each of my children – not so much specific… need to work on this.
  10. mellow out philosophically (if you don’t know what that means, just read a few of my posts and you’ll likely find some crazed post where i’m ranting about my strong disagreement about something generally accepted by the status quo) – this is kind of an ambiguous goal… but i haven’t done any major ranting lately (other than my food post) so i guess i’m doing okay with this.
  11. beat myself up less (again, just read a few posts) – can’t think of any major self-beating episodes recently… ;)
  12. take better care of the dog. she’s 13 now and i need to make the most of the years i have left with her. (okay, this one is making me a little teary) – other than one big long walk, i don’t have much to report. pathetic.
  13. get my reading glasses – well, yes, and then no. went to costco, picked them out, ordered them, and then discovered that costco isn’t covered by our optical insurance, so i had to call and cancel them. still looking for a time i can get back to the optician at the eye dr. to pick some out there. :(
  14. spend more time with my mom – well, this isn’t turning out the way i thought it would, but i’ve definitely seen a lot of her lately! i taught her to knit, she totally got addicted, started a big project, and keeps getting herself in situations she needs me to get her out of. so i’ve seen A LOT of her recently!
  15. be less boring – another ambiguous one… perhaps i should define what would constitute ‘less boring’ in order to know if i’m making any progress…
  16. attend as many MOMS club events as possible – doing pretty good here. i made it to the january business meeting, craft club, and a playgroup. and i went to all but one monday night S&B.
  17. make most of my gifts (stole that one) – haven’t had to give any gifts in january… well, other than dave’s birthday present, which i did make.
  18. create a will – yeah, not so much.
  19. be more philanthropic – nothing to report.
  20. go on 10 dates with my husband – been on 2 so far! ;)

Comments

  1. Great job on the going out! It can be so hard. Joe and I made it out once in January and I think that once a month is going to be the max for us. :( Hopefully we will make it out for our anniversary sometime this month. I should do the monthly eval for my ginormous list of things I want to do but I think that I would get too depressed at the lack of progress.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey Rachel

    Regarding Austen: Try starting with Persuasion. It is my favorite of her books. I think it is her most "mature" work, it is definitely the shortest and it will get you motivated to read in the time period! :) That is a friendly tip from a lover of the classics!:-)

    Stephanie

    ReplyDelete
  3. You are doing good. This is a BIG list and very ambitious, but I admire it! way to go!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...