Skip to main content

further endeavors in potty training...

so layla has had some minor impovement since my last rant. she did finally poop that day, and in the potty, which is always ideal. yesterday she actually pooped twice, which is totally unheard of for her! she's been eating a lot of dried fruit lately. maybe in increase in frequency will help her get over her issues more quickly. that would be best for everyone involved.
layla's pottying issues, along with those of many other toddlers and preschoolers i've encountered over the years, have gotten me thinking about the whole potty training process in general. i have a tendency to think of things anthropologically, and when encountering a typical problem in the natural, universal flow of life, i begin to wonder how the rest of the world does it. i've always been one to question the status quo, especially when 'the way we've always done it' doesn't seem to be all that effective. or at least it's leaving something to be desired.
over a year ago, i stumbled upon a book called 'diaper free: the gentle wisdom of natural infant hygiene' while browsing in a bookstore. the sheer impossibility of the title's implication intrigued me (as things like that ususally do) so i picked it up and leafed through it, but didn't really gather too much info at the time. the idea of a diaper free baby really left me with only one thought; gross! but since then, the actual subject of the book, and several others like it, has floated across my plate several times. 'elimination communication' or EC is actually a fairly common practice in many cultures and it is growing in popularity in certain circles even here the 'we love everything disposable' usa. basically, the idea is not so much that you let your baby run around without a diaper and poop all over everything, but rather you get them used to using the toilet much sooner than is generally thought of as the right time to potty train, even from birth. true, some people take the extreme end of the spectrum and never put their babies in diapers, but there's room for much more flexibility than just that. it also involves learning to read your baby's signals that he wants to go.
so i got a book and started thinking about the possibility of not having to put micah through what is obviously very stressful for layla. i was very skeptical and didn't figure it would really work for us and thought that after 4 months, if micah was giving me any signals, i was sure not receptive to them. but i sheepishly decided to try one evening, to stick him on the potty and see what happened. ABOUT 2 SECONDS LATER, HE ACTUALLY PEED! i was astounded, but figured it was a fluke. so the next morning after he woke up and i was taking his diaper off of him anyway, i sat him on it again, and he peed! WOW! so i decided to read a little more of this crazy book and see what was really involved. i put him in a cloth diaper without the cover so i would be able to tell easily if he was wet or dry and a long sleeve t-shirt for convenience. later that morning, i was changing him after he had slept awhile and decided to see if we could make it 3 times. HE POOPED!!!! i #@!* you not! so i was getting more and more convinced that this might actually be a possibility. i read basically the rest of the book and figured it was pretty much common sense at the beginning and apparently a lot of EC'd babies are completely out of diapers by their first birthday (and able to get themselves to the potty on their own or at least able to tell you to take them there). so in the last 3 days, i've caught a lot of pees and 3 or 4 poops. he does have a few signals that i've been able to pick up on, but that part is still a little fuzzy for me.
i know you're all thinking, 'here's another one of rachel's crazy ideas!' maybe it is. maybe it isn't. so, no, i'm not exacly trying to potty train my 4 month old, i think that sounds kind of pretentious. i'm just trying to catch as many as i can and if we can get rid of diapers sooner rather than later, woo hoo! if not, i figure at least we can avoid the neuroses that so commonly accompany typical potty training. i'll keep you posted.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...