Skip to main content

project life 2014 week 1

this week is a little odd, as the year started on a wednesday. I didn’t have any trouble filling in the extra photo pockets, though.

wednesday: a trip to EG wouldn’t be complete without a visit to feickert park.038

while at the park, dave and shane were throwing the football around, doing fun stuff like trying to throw it into various slides and such… and then dave threw it into a tree. high in a tree… the new football that shane just got for christmas… and then I had a heart attack…

2014-01-171

thursday: since laurie was sick on the 1st, we celebrated dave’s birthday on wednesday instead.064

friday: dave and shane got the opportunity to go shoot some guns with nolan. a friend of his ad all sorts of different ones. apparently they (the adults, not shane) had to ‘empty’ some beer cans first so they had something to shoot at.2014-01-091

also friday: for the last year, micah has been talking about this ‘happy birthday’ shirt he wants to get for his dog carper. it had resurfaced with a vengeance lately, as he’s aware that carper’s actual birthday was coming up. the day before, we tried, in vain, to go to the build-a-bear store where carper was created to get him his shirt. well, the store was no longer there. SO, gramma laurie found us another mall that had a store that was on the way to the bay area where we were heading. so we stopped, found the store, found the shirt, and then…… micah spotted the 49ers football outfit. he went into complete meltdown mode at this point, and, needless to say, carper STILL does not have a happy birthday shirt. (and bella got a fancy party dress.)2014-01-092

saturday: shane had been fighting a sore throat and some general cold symptoms for about 24 hours. I was a little concerned because laurie (and madeline, before her) had had a positive strep test. I was hoping to get away with not having to make an ER visit, since we were out of state. that hope went out the window in the middle of the night when shane woke me up because his ear was killing him, along with his throat. this kid was in serious pain. and then the ear started making popping sounds, he couldn’t hear anything, and it started oozing. it was a VERY long night. at any rate, we found ourselves in the ER, surrounded by a waiting room full of people wearing masks and/or holding vomit receptacles. it was my worst nightmare. he was finally seen, diagnosed with strep and an ear infection, and given a gigantic shot in the butt of penicillin. totally awesome.075

saturday evening: leaving the next morning, so getting in some last minute snuggles with papa.077

and gramma teaching layla how to do counted cross stitch.IMAG0231

the book shots:010011012

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...