Skip to main content

week 29 in pictures

sunday: while killing time in portland, we were lucky enough to get to visit w/ my cousins and aunt and celebrate a special 2nd birthday. micah was very excited about the golf set he picked out to give him… and very concerned when he wasn’t “using it right”.088

a couple skinnies for the center slots of the offensive way to use the golf clubs wrong… they were not supposed to go in the pool and micah was not amused! LOL.

also, micah, in a tree, waiting and waiting for dave and shane to cross the finish line of the STP.091 092

finally! (shane was there too, but I didn’t have my camera ready fast enough. it’s hard to time it right.093

and cole and kat finishing w/ their entourage. they got much fanfare as they finished.094

wednesday: prepping for layla’s birthday party. we bought out michaels’ supply of lanterns.122

thursday: every now and then shane just needs to love on ginger.129

saturday: I had a TON of errands to run and I made the mistake of taking layla with me to spend some birthday money at target. OMG… she took for-ev-er… finally wound up with a bed for julie.2013-08-0612

also saturday: dave planned a little surprise party for me at fireside cellars. I though he and I were just going out, but then we got there, and lynn, miina, lisa, and my friend dave from high school were all there! I was SO surprised, and I had a ton of fun. it was a beautiful evening, and while we were there, we had an awesome balloon flyover.239

and then I have a bunch of instagrams:

part of my killing time in portland on sunday involved spending my lululemon gift card. layla and micah had to come along and micah was most excited about the display of yoga mats. not sure what was so great about them, but he was impressed…

084

every time I get to the bottom of a jar of nutella, I wish I had the long, flat, tongue of a dog. it’s true.097

found this on the wall. when I asked micah what it was, he said he was playing “stick the straw on the cup”. okay…102

fun at willis-tucker park.107

a nice mom at the park alerted me to the fact that I had a sticker on my back… at least it doesn’t say “kick me”.112

more park fun.

113

shane is always finding new and improved ways to torment his cat. apparently toby is an STP finisher.121

big display of ‘bacon’ goods at the party store.123

more party prep: we acquired feed sacks for the sack race. they had to try them out. micah didn’t want to race because he wanted to be the starter.134

the ‘food tent’ ready for the party.137

and… 1 hour before the party, this happened. right after the dog at the hot dog buns, and right before a guest arrived 36 minutes early… not awesome.141

me, after all the guests had gone, and kids were in bed. 229

and 3 big collages from layla’s party.2013-08-06272013-08-06282013-08-0629

book shots will be added after I get the pics back.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...