Skip to main content

crappy day

this is a rant. sort of. more like a whine. it’s totally self-indulgent and unnecessary, but oh well. my blog.

this morning just kind of totally really sucked. nothing major happened. no one died (well, not anyone I know. but it’s a big world.) everything was fine until I took shane to school. well, that part was fine, too. except that I noticed that I needed gas. kind of badly.

but I was wearing my pajamas.

(yes, I do this. I’m THAT mom. I drive my kid to junior high wearing pj pants, a hoodie, and my slippers. I never have to go outside, nobody has to see me… I’m safely concealed inside my minivan.)

so I really didn’t want to have to stop on the way home to get gas.

I went back and forth about it. this is the ONLY situation in which I wish I lived in oregon, where you are not allowed to pump your own gas. ultimately, I decided against it.

I estimated that I had enough gas to get home, plus the few miles back to the gas station, which is right near where I have to drop both micah and layla off at their respective schools.

so that was my plan.

go home, get ready (shower, put on real clothes), eat breakfast, take layla to school, get gas, take micah to school, go to workout, go from there to buy new running shoes, go to costco, pick up micah, head home.

I only had about 35 minutes in which to get myself and the kids ready. fortunately, I’d made their lunches ahead of time. this shouldn’t be an issue.

so, it’s getting down to crunch time. we’ve got to head out now or layla is going to be late. layla being late means that my whole schedule got messed up. if she’s late (or even JUST on time, for that matter), then I won’t have time to get gas before dropping micah off and then I’ll have to do it after, which will make ME late.

well, that’s just what happened. as soon as I send micah to get his shoes off of the back porch, the cat escapes. ugh. so then I have to spend several minutes I DON’T have to spare coaxing the cat out from under the porch.

I realize that I haven’t had time to eat. so I grab a trio bar and dump the remains of a smoothie I made yesterday into a cup and call it good.

then, in the process of getting from the garage door to the car, layla manages to misplace the locket her grandparents gave her that she was wanting me to help her put on. spend several more minutes I DON’T have searching for that. don’t worry, we found it.

so we finally leave, layla’s in tears, I realize that micah doesn’t have anything for show & tell, but oh well. no time for that now.

miraculously, we didn’t run out of gas on the way to school. layla jumped out and ran off to class just as the bell was ringing, which meant that I had to head straight to the preschool or micah would be late.

which meant that I had to get gas AFTER dropping him off.

so I got gas, and then I had to high-tail it across the road I got a ticket on a year ago, so of course, I had to watch my speed, and pulled into the parking lot of the church where my aerobics class is held RIGHT at 9:15 (which is when it starts). that would be okay except for 2 things. 1) I had to pee. 2) ever since cheryl put an article in the paper about the class, it is totally slammed! like seriously busting at the seams. not that that’s a bad thing. it’s a great class, so people should know about it, it’s just busy. which is why I like to get there a little early and get a good spot.

that was not going to happen today.

we were packed in like sardines and I had to get a spot on the OTHER side of the room. I know that sounds stupid, but my perspective on it is always from the left side of the room. I couldn’t figure out what I was looking at or adjust my brain to make my body do what I was seeing from the RIGHT side of the room! aggghhh!

add to that that the right side of the room is right next to the kitchen, where they were cooking something for the seder meal they’re having tomorrow night, and it SMELLED really strong which was highly distracting and made me feel a little queasy.

all of that led to a sub-par workout, which messed with my head even more because I had my first crappy run experience yesterday.

blah blah blah…

whine whine whine.

at any rate, after class I did manage to go out and get my new running shoes, which I love, so hopefully that makes up for it, I can get a GOOD run in, and make up for all of this other stupid stuff.

**EDITED TO ADD**

I am happy to report that my day picked up in the afternoon. trying my new shoes out on the treadmill and adjusting my hyper-competitive attitude a bit led to a really good run that felt awesome and restored my confidence in my ability to actually progress to running longer than a couple minutes at a time without feeling like I wanted to die.

**EDITED AGAIN TO ADD**

and then, just as I was about to throw dinner into the oven, my day got even crappier. literally. darn dog had a random bout of doggy diarrhea ALL OVER my dining room floor. it was a mess of gargantuan proportions. the kind of mess you look at and can’t even force your brain to think clearly about how to begin cleaning it up. (I eventually managed with a roll of paper towels, a plastic bag, and a mop. there’s still a rug outside on the porch that I’m not ready to deal with, and one of micah’s shoes that I’m considering just throwing away, since they’re old and on the too-small side.)

ugh.

at least there haven’t been any repeat performances…

Comments

  1. At least it wasn't on carpet. THAT would have been a disaster of gargantuan proportions. Silver lining. ;)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...