Skip to main content

eggs and veggies

I have a love-hate relationship with eggs.

I would love to be able to love eggs. but in reality, they give me the heebie jeebies. there’s something about the texture of them, the way they change texture, the way they smell, where they came from, why we think they are supposed to be food…

pair that with many years of waitressing and serving trays full of eggs, cooked in various methods and smelling various ways, and I’m just really not a fan.

but, eggs are good for you. a good dose of protein is a great way to start your day. but the ways I will eat eggs are pretty limited. pretty much, scrambled is it. nothing can be runny. NOTHING. nor can it be spongy. nor can it be rubbery. nor can it be stinky. so hard boiled, soft boiled, over easy, over medium, sunny side up, poached, baked in a quiche… all of that’s out. and over hard is out as well, because I can’t stand hard yolk by itself.

so yeah. scrambled.

even scrambled, I don’t really like them. I have to cook them VERY well, and smother them with something like salt and pepper or cheese, or some sort of breakfast meats in order to NOT TASTE the eggs.

well, all that kind of defeats the purpose of eating the eggs in the first place!

so, in my effort to consciously only put into me that which is good, solid, healthful fuel for my body, I have taken to staring into the fridge for long periods of time, looking for something to make my eggs yummy without destroying the nutrition factor.

I have come up with 2 very key things. the first is fresh veggies. I especially love raw or barely hot sautéed veggies. and the more the better. the second is salsa. not runny, everything squished up in a blender salsa. salsa fresca! or pico de gallo! something with a lot of chunks of a lot of all the stuff that makes good fresh salsa one of my favorite foods on this earth!

so here is what I do. I dice some celery and onions and throw them in the pan to sauté. not a ton. I’m just making this for myself. so like one slice across the bunch of celery, and one slice across the middle of an onion (maybe two if I’m feeling adventurous and don’t have to talk to a lot of people that day!) while those are getting a little softer, I cut up a little bit of carrots, broccoli, whatever else I have that sounds good, then I throw them in the pan, tossing everything around every now and again. then I chop up some black olives and throw them in the pan along with a big spoonful of fresh salsa. this is key! I never used to understand why people put salsa on their eggs. in my experience, it just makes them cold and soggy! but by tossing it in the pan for just a teensy bit, a lot of the liquid cooks off and it gets heated through! then I dump everything into a bowl and cook my eggs. yeah, they look a little brown from all the stuff that was just in the pan, but I don’t care. I’m too lazy to wipe out the pan or get a different one. that’s just more work. when the eggs are mostly cooked on one side, I make sure they are good and loose, and then flip them, omelet style (I’m amazingly good at this! and it’s so fun. plus you feel a major sense of accomplishment. trust me.), and dump the bowl of veggies on top. then I use my spatula to start breaking up the eggs and mix everything together. there are two reasons I do it this way. first is that I don’t want my veggies to cook any longer than they already have. the second, is that I don’t want them encased in eggs. when you do that, all the flavors kind of start to run together.

002

notice that the amount of veggies is almost equal to the amount of eggs!

dump onto a plate, a little grind of pepper, a fork, and breakfast is served! your taste buds will not know what to do with themselves!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...