Skip to main content

lent

today is ash wednesday, marking the beginning of the liturgical season of lent. as happens every year, i CAN’T believe it’s already here! didn’t we just celebrate christmas? wasn’t it JUST 2009? i remember being a kid and listening to my mother talk about how quickly time went and thinking she was crazy. time seems to crawl at what seems like a geological pace when you’re a kid. but, as usual, she was right.

the traditions involved with lent, around the world, are fascinating to me. yesterday, thanks to UK native friends, i got to celebrate ‘pancake tuesday’. yesterday afternoon and evening, facebook was littered with status updates about what things people were ‘giving up’ for lent. this is a tradition i generally participate in. last year i gave up facebook. in the past, i’ve given up things like soda, coffee, candy, tv.  this year, i’m giving up my dishwasher. odd, i know.

people have different ideas about the purpose of giving something up. i’m not an expert on the history of lenten traditions, but i know that traditionally people would observe a 40 day fast, finishing with an easter celebration feast. for some the fast would involve giving up meat, for others, any ‘rich’ foods such as butter, eggs, sugar, oils, etc, which is where the traditions of pancake tuesday and fat tuesday came from, in order to rid your house of such foods. for others, i believe yeast is something not used during lent. wikipedia has some interesting information about lent and i’m sure there are more informative websites out there as well. at any rate, it’s an interesting subject, and given that church history is now a topic that fascinates me, as opposed to bores me, i imagine some research is in the near future for me.  i do find it interesting that so many people who do not observe lent, from a religious standpoint, do observe lenten fasts.

some people view the purpose of giving up something (or even adding something) in much the same way i view a new years’ resolution, in that it is intended to break or create a habit for personal improvement or increased health, such as smoking or exercising. i view it differently. personally, i try to give up something that has enough significance to me that i will ‘suffer’ a little bit with it. i see the lenten fast as a way to call to mind the suffering of Christ on our behalf, and any time i feel the discomfort of whatever i’ve given up (because of a craving or an inconvenience), i use that to remind myself of how much that ‘suffering’ pales in comparison. that said, i don’t think that anyone can define a ‘correct’ way to observe a lenten fast, only that, if your intention is to observe lent from a religious perspective (and personally, i don’t really understand what there is to observe otherwise – but that’s just me and it’s certainly not for me to determine who should and shouldn’t observe lent), that your focus is on Christ, not on yourself and YOUR personal gain.

there are other traditions of lent that are particularly meaningful to me. i’ve recently become aware of something i had always taken for granted. not all christian denominations are ‘liturgical’. i had no clue about this. what i mean by liturgical, for those who don’t know, is the following of the liturgical calendar of the seasons of church year. it includes seasons like advent, christmas, epiphany, lent, easter, pentecost, etc. there are colors, liturgies, music, etc. that go along with each season as well. obviously, the catholic church and it’s traditions is the main source of much of modern christianity, but a few of the protestant denominations (lutherans, methodists, anglicans) still follow the liturgical calendar. having grown up in the lutheran church, i had no idea that ‘church’ for other christians doesn’t involve these observations and celebrations. of course there’s no biblical requirement which states that in order to be a christian, you MUST follow the liturgical calendar, so i don’t want to give anyone the idea that i think non-liturgical churches are less correct or less christian than those that are. i just have discovered that i really appreciate the rhythm of those seasons and the things that go along with it.

one of the things associated with lent in church, is the absence of the word ‘alleluia’ in music and liturgy. this became particularly meaningful, while i was a student at trinity. every day at 10am, there was a chapel service, and every wednesday, that service included the celebration of the eucharist, or holy communion. the trinity eucharist has some of the most beautiful music i’ve ever experienced (which involve a lot of alleluias), and the absence of that for the season of lent was very significant. even more significant, was the return of this after easter. i can hardly describe the celebratory feeling that accompanied the return of this music and it’s alleluias! that in itself, was a true lenten fast for me. there are also the colors and those things which adorn the church during the seasons which add special significance for me. the cross in the sanctuary of my church will be draped today (for ash wednesday service) in a long purple cloth. it will remain there until good friday, when the purple will be replaced by a black one. everything is very stark and dark that day. and then on easter sunday, the contrast is amazing! the cross is draped in a white cloth all the the paraments are white and easter lilies are everywhere. it’s truly beautiful and really adds to the celebratory feeling and the significance of the progression of the lenten period to the observance of the passion of Christ and the celebration of easter.

well, i’m rambling, as usual. but my hope is that, if you are giving up something for lent, or whatever other way this time of the year is meaningful to you, that you will be blessed in your experience, that your faith is increased, and that Christ and his saving grace will remain your focus.

happy lent!

Comments

  1. my perspective on giving something up for lent is the same as yours, but the period of suffering is to teach us that we can indeed live with less. the 'habit,' for lack of a better word, becomes such because after the period of suffering, it feels inauthentic to spoil yourself by adding the treat back in. which is why i get to irritated by people giving up coffee or sweets, only to go out to starbucks on easter morning and spludge themselves. the easter feast you mention is different than this. Lent gives us the opportunity to realize the blessings we have are just that - blessings, not necessity, and we can live in closer unity with Christ when we try to do it with less, long term.
    just my opinion. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. The church we belonged to in NJ had a tradition they called the blossoming of the cross. We had a 7 foot cross covered in chicken wire and at the end if the easter service the congregation decorated that cross with hundreds of flowers. Probably the most significant Easter tradition I'd ever participated in. The idea that with Christ's suffering, what wad once an ugly thing became beautiful and uplifting.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...