Skip to main content

GARBAGE TRUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

oh yes, wednesday IS the most exciting day of the week around here. that’s right, wednesday is garbage day.

my kids LOVE garbage trucks. when shane was little, he used to go running outside, every time he (or someone else) heard one rumbling up the street. i remember one time he came in all excited because the driver had given him some ritz crackers. um, yeah. sorry kid, you don’t get to eat anything given to you by an on-duty garbage collector! yes, i realize he mostly just drives the truck, but still…

when we lived in ohio, they didn’t have the automated trucks that pick up your can, empty it, and set it down again like we do here. they had old school garbage trucks with actual people who jumped on and off the back of the truck and emptied everyone’s cans. actual people who wore orange and white striped uniforms. actual people who looked strangely like convicts in those uniforms. actually, it turns out those people were ACTUAL convicts! it took me like 2 months to figure this out.

anyway, now micah is the one all excited about garbage trucks. layla likes them too, but 4 is probably a bit past the optimal age of garbage truck excitement. our garbage gets picked up once a week. our recycling and yard waste gets picked up every 2 weeks. on those weeks, garbage day is REALLY exciting because we get to see 3 different trucks come by. actually, i think we get a pretty sweet deal here, because the trucks go down both sides of the street, and living on the corner, we get to see them go down the cross street as well. on the street i grew up on, everyone had to put their cans on the same side of the street, so the trucks only had to make one pass. although less efficient, this way is WAY more exciting.

i think shane secretly likes having younger siblings, because he gets to relive some of the wonderful things from when he was their age. things like bob the builder cartoons, toy trains and… garbage trucks! he has taken it upon himself to be the official announcer of approaching garbage trucks. he yells, and everyone comes running to the front window to watch.

well, today there was a bit of a downside to this whole procedure. if you know anything about layla, you know she likes to draw. well, actually she loves to draw. and write. and color. and glue. and cut. and paint. and stamp. and anything else that can be done with paper. one whole wall in my kitchen/dining room is wallpapered with her creations. dave has likened her to pigpen from peanuts cartoons, except instead of a cloud of dirt following her around, it’s a cloud of paper. so as you can imagine, a fair amount of her creations wind up in the recycling (after she’s gone to bed, of course). DON’T JUDGE! it has to happen. there is no way EVERYTHING she makes could possibly be saved and treasured forever and ever! and because of the sheer volume of pictures she makes, she generally doesn’t notice when some go missing.

until today, that is…

the announcement went out, kids came running… it happened to be the recycling that was being picked up…

“hey! he just dumped my picture into the truck! he dumped lots of my pictures into the truck!!!”

oh boy.

fortunately, we escaped tears or any sort of major hysteria. shane, bless his heart, was smart enough to point to the wall and remind her of all the wonderful pictures we DO save, and i gushed about how much i love her pictures, but that we can’t keep all of them because she makes so many. although a little miffed, she seemed okay with this… i do feel a little bad, though. maybe i’ll just have to create a bin of ‘layla creations’ (a big one) and dump them all in there when i’m tidying up. then i’ll give them to her when she’s moving out and let HER deal with them. that’s what my mom did to me. well, some of them, at least. i have to admit that i was an avid lover of paper when i was young as well, so i assume there were a fair amount that made their way into the truck! i lived. i guess she will too! ;)

Comments

  1. My kids LOVE the garbage truck as well, but it is called the "dump truck" in our house because it "dumps" the garbage. Anyway, I feel your pain about Layla's art and her finding out! I'm having a somewhat of the same problem with Jaxon, I just haven't thrown them out...YET (gulp). I've designated one box for both boys, and Jaxon's by far exceeds Brycen's. Pretty soon some of those creations are going to have to end up where Layla's went. :( I'm glad she took it so well!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Brown bag them before you put them in the recycling. See if that helps. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Your kids would have LOVED where we lived in New Jersey. We got garbage pick up twice a week, plus recycling on yet another day once a week.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...