Skip to main content

more sickness... more insanity

so this time it's layla who is sick. she woke up whiny today and i eventually became compelled to take her temperature. yup. she's sick. she said her throat hurt and then later she said her ears hurt. well that's a free ticket to the doctor. so we got her an appointment at 4:30. great. well, not exactly. we had a logistical dilemma of epic proportions. dave was at the dentist. we still only have one working car. the dr's office is in bellevue. shane had soccer practice at 5:30 back here in woodinville. so we tried to make it work. it didn't. dave finished with his dentist appointment around the time i was leaving to take layla (and shane and micah, because really, that was my only choice) to her appointment, so i picked him up (fortunately, the dentist is in redmond, which is on the way) and we all went to the dr. i took layla in and dave took the others to a swim shop to get shane's new goggles - yeah, we still hadn't managed to find those. so layla and i sat in the waiting room for like 45 minutes. at 5, i called dave and told him he better just take shane to practice because there was no way we were going to be done in time for him to get there at all. but then he was going to have to come back to bellevue to get us, and somehow get back to woodinville to pick up shane. in an hour. during rush hour traffic. right.

well that wasn't going to happen, so dave worked it out with the coach and our neighbors that the coach would bring him to the neighbors' house when practice was over. as it turned out, we beat them and coach was able to bring him directly here... fun times. we so need to get the toyota running.

oh, layla has.... wait for it.... a virus.

good grief. her ears are fine, but her throat is red and she's got a bunch of little ulcer things on the insides of her mouth. tylenol and fluids.

Comments

  1. How are your kids always sick? I just don't understand. Our poor girl. Give her a big hug and kiss from us and let her know that we are thinking about her. :(

    ReplyDelete
  2. uuuhhh, cuz kids get sick sometimes. i don't think it's too outrageously often. it's not like yours never get sick. mine seem to be able to come up with stuff at odd times (or at the least convenient times...) layla's always gotten sick way more often than shane ever did... i think part of it is him bringing stuff home. he's always had an iron immune system - until recently. so i think he just passes the stuff on to her. the more kids=more sickness.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...