Skip to main content

ramblings from quarantine...

it's been like 37 days since the kids' schools closed and we all started working from home. for the most part, it's been WONDERFUL. for me.

unfortunately, not all the people who live with me seem to agree with that stance and i don't think they'll allow me to institute a quarantine lifestyle when we're no longer required to do so. {insert sad face}

so I'm trying to make the most of it now, while i can. But, in true "rachel" fashion, i'm already anxiously analyzing what will happen when things return to "normal".  

that's where i am today. it's kind of a blah day. we've had the most amazing string of beautiful spring days. i've taken my dog on a good, long walk every day of this quarantine. i have only been rained on once. ONCE people! do you understand how crazy that is for March/April in the pnw? but today it's been rainy and overcast. it's messing with my positive attitude. 

i've been toying with the idea of creating a pro/con list. or something like that. things i do and don't like about this particular weird and "unprecedented" time in history.

Things I don't like about Quarantine:
  1. The obvious: people are sick and dying. The actual reason for this quarantine totally sucks.
  2. related to that is the fact that people are out of work, businesses aren't surviving, the economy and stock market are not in a good state.
  3. the library isn't open! Not being able to put actual paper books on hold and go pick them up is majorly frustrating me. I can't even return the books i'm done with!
  4. i feel like i'm committing a crime every time i go to the store. mostly that's been the grocery store once a week and i went to lowe's once with dave. we discovered that layla's shorts are all too small and she needs new ones. shopping with her is a nightmare anyway, but not having a lot options where she can try stuff on is problematic. online ordering intimidates me because i figure i'll be forking over a lot of money all at once and will involve a LOT of returning because nothing ever fits her, and that will require a trip to the post office, which will feel like a crime as well. 
  5. layla is feeling antsy about not seeing her friends and she's disappointed that the school play she was just starting to rehearse got cancelled.
  6. i bought a bunch of fun spring dresses from thredup just before this all hit, and now i have no place to wear them.
  7. i do miss seeing my co-workers and that fun, but we keep up a group text so that's nice.
Things I like about Quarantine:
  1. working from home. there is not one teeny little thing i miss about my sucky commute and long hours away from home. i know how lucky i am that my job has translated very easily to working from home. i like my job, i just don't like having to GET there.
  2. messy buns or baseball hats every day!
  3. not getting up at 5am!
  4. kids going to school at home. i love having them around all day. and not having to put them on the bus at 6:20 and 6:45am every day is amazing.
  5. no in-person meetings. dave had a crazy amount of meetings that he was always running off to, which meant a lot of juggling who was going where, how they were going to get there, and who was going to pick them up, especially when they both had to be picked up or dropped off at the same time in different locations.
  6. no activities. i know this makes me sound like a horribly unsupportive parent, and it's not the activities themselves i don't like. it's the craziness of everyone running every which-way every night.
  7. slower pace of life. i love a leisurely morning. i love going about my day, not rushed by schedules and traffic and making sure the timing is right to leave one thing to make it to the next thing on time. riding the hamster wheel is exhausting to me. and we live way too far away from literally everything.
  8. long walks with my dog.
  9. knitting projects.
  10. reading books - individually, and as a family.
  11. not having to put on makeup. (actually, the best part of that is not having to wash it off at the end of the day. i hate that part.)
  12. family dinner every night.
  13. cooking real food every night.
  14. having time to deal with home projects and maintenance that need to be dealt with but we never have time.
  15. having time and energy to clean and tidy my house every day.
  16. having time (and appropriate weather) for using my clothesline. (it doesn't work very well to hang things up at 5pm... you kind of need all day)
  17. seeing my kids truly enjoying each other and spending time together (since that's their only choice!)
  18. spending all my time AT MY HOUSE, which i love!
  19. saying hi to neighbors as they walk by, because they all do!
  20. coronavirus memes. seriously. they're funny.
  21. my anxiety level is WAY low. one of my biggest sources of anxiety is the same old vomit phobia i've always had, and that's pretty much non-existent right now. my kids aren't going anywhere, so there's no place for them to pick up the stomach flu! lower anxiety means i have so much more energy, since i'm not in panic/battle mode all day, every day. laugh if you want, but it's a very real thing for me and it sucks.
  22. the feeling that we are working together as a family at something. i'm not sure what that something is, but we're in it together. it's not "everyone for himself" every single day as we go off to do our own jobs or school, followed by our own activities, none of which involve anyone else, except for the part where you need a ride to get there.
I guess i must be weird or something, because i feel like everyone else is really hating quarantine life. to me, this feels like living. normal life just feels like surviving. 


Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...