Skip to main content

i know you think i'm crazy, but i LOVE my clothesline.

okay, I’m about to totally blow your mind. no for real. I can’t even tell you how much I LOVE hanging my clothes to dry, outside, in the sun, in the fresh air, with actual clothespins, on actual clotheslines.

if you’ve known me for any length of time, you know that this obsession goes way back. like, 11.5 years back, to when my brand new husband whisked me and my 5 year old away from the suburbs of seattle, where I’d lived my whole life, to a mythological place in rural ohio called a “farm town”. we lived in a 100 year old house that had these amazing metal t-posts in the backyard. he asked if I wanted to use them, and I thought, what the heck?! So he bought me some clothespins and strung up the lines between them.

and I fell in love.

I hung out our clothes as long as it was possible to do so… Probably from about late april to early october. the thing that is super awesome about ohio weather is the wind. there is almost always wind, so your clothes get dry quick, and without a lot of stiffness from just hanging still. the thing that is super sucky about ohio weather is the storms (at least in regards to line drying clothes). there were plenty of times I had to go flying out of the house and yank the clothes down while dodging fat raindrops because a storm came in suddenly. or I was out somewhere and started hearing distant thunder rumbling, remembering that I had clothes on the line, and calculating whether or not I had time to make it home and pull them off the line or if I should just forget it and figure I would dry them for the second time after it quit raining and the sun came back out.

I also had a baby during that time. and there is nothing quite so precious as seeing baby clothes drying on the line.

at any rate, after 2 years, we moved back the the suburbs of seattle and lived in a condo. THE HORROR!! I did go to target and invest in some accordion racks that I sometimes put on my deck.

not the same.

after a hellish year in the condo, we moved to a house, still in the suburbs, but far enough out that we didn’t have HOA rules imposed on us that forbid the use of clotheslines. (I have lots of very nasty words for those folks.) Every spring, I begged, pleaded, dropped hints, etc. to no avail. money was tight. time was tight. we had a flock of little kids… so, once again, I improvised.


not the same.

but after 5 years in that house, we moved again. this time even further out. not quite rural, but almost. we have lots of nature going on out here. at any rate, after about a year in this house, my begging, pleading, and hint dropping finally paid off, and I got my clothesline. it was LOOOONG, and went from the shed in one corner of the yard to a tree somewhere in the middle.


it had it’s downsides (the stuff hung on the end under the tree risked birds pooping on it, and it sagged in the middle because it was so long. this led me to be creative with a fisher-price basketball hoop to prop it up in the middle. but that would blow over (even with water in the base) on windy days, dragging the whole line down with it. and it killed the grass in a 2’x2’ square. but it worked.

so, almost the same.



































however, after 3 years of using this line, I still kinda sorta really wanted my t-posts. AND, a totally amazing thing happened! a series of windstorms decimated our fence. related? not so much. but, the insurance company gave us a bunch of money to fix the fence, so dave went out and bought a bunch of wood and tools. and made many trips to home depot…

are you thinking what I’m thinking?

thank goodness he was!

last sunday, the kids were harassing us to take them to the park. just as we were about to leave, I had a brilliant idea.

how about I take them to the park and YOU go to home depot and buy the stuff you need to make my t-posts.

so he did!

and then I had this week off of work for spring break, and the weather was sunny, and…

ta da!!!

I am one happy mama!

stay tuned because I have all sorts of clothesline tips and advice to dispense so that you, too, will want to line dry your clothes!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...