Skip to main content

remember when I used to blog?

you know, like actually write posts about stuff that I thought or things we were doing… funny stuff my kids were doing, how my daughter, at the age of 2 and a half, refused to poop… I wrote about knitting, I wrote about cooking, and more than anything, I think I wrote about my horrible fight with the entity of housekeeping…

it’s funny to look back, something I find myself doing a lot of now, and see how, in the 6 years since I started this blog, life has changed. a lot of it is that my kids are older. the ‘stuff’ of daily life is different. all of my kids are in REAL school now, at least part of the day. I haven’t changed a diaper in years. nobody takes naps, unless they are sick or have been to a sleepover. breastfeeding, potty training, baby wearing, co-sleeping (except for the occasional sneaky nighttime visitor or bad dream) is all a memory now. even sippy cups. I didn’t think there would ever be an end to the sippy cups. it’s all very, very weird, and I find myself getting nostalgic over the stupidest things. I was laughing hysterically in a restaurant the other night over this baby (about a year old) who kept dropping things on the floor. first the cup, then the bread she was eating, then the cup again… seriously gravity is a b****.

but anyway, I don’t really post about much of that anymore. project life, and the related posts have hijacked all of my “must document” energy. I used to write about things that were going on as a way to share what we were doing… what life was like. I do that now weekly, with my post of the weekly pics, or via facebook or instagram. while that’s fun, and immediate, short and sweet, I really miss blogging. writing the stories about the actual stuff we are doing.

right now, my days are crazy. we drive 10 miles each way to get to school. multiple start and end times because of junior high, elementary, and half-day kindergarten. we really like our schools, but sometimes I kind of wonder what my current degree of insanity is. I am completely obsessed right now with barre3. I go almost every day. I was hoping to be auditioning to be an instructor for them, but seem to have encountered an unexplained set back that is out of my hands… so I guess I just have to be patient there, and see what happens. monday and tuesday, after picking up micah from school, I go and clean my mom and dad’s house for them. the rest of the week days, we just go to hang out with my mom so my dad can get away or outside for a little while. it’s hard on micah, but he’s finding creative ways to keep himself busy. breaking from his routine is hard for him, so hopefully he will adjust to this new routine soon. then it’s off to pick up other kids. every friday, I get to hang with layla’s class during their slot at the school library. that’s very fun. checking books out, reshelving, all of that. then after, I have about 20 minutes before micah is out of school, so I go to lunch with her and just hang out and chat with her and her friends. it really is just lovely (aside from the scent of cafeteria food). layla has ballet once a week. shane has workouts at the high school for football 4 times a week. two of those days I drive the carpool. I have to say, cramming my van to the rafters with teenage boys is one of the highlights of my week. always hilarious. somewhere in there, I try to get grocery shopping and errands done with as few ‘helpers’ as possible. all said and done, I am almost never home between the hours of 8:30 and 4:30. it’s like I work full time… like it, but without the paycheck… oh, and I host the moms club book club once a month, and still hold a board position (I’ll be all done in june). and then there are assorted band concerts and what not sprinkled in here and there.

for the last couple of months, I’ve been doing a lot of single parenting. dave’s company is moving offices this coming weekend, which has meant a TON of extra work for him. he’s been gone most weekends, and working crazy hours from before we get up until after we go to bed at night. he’s put in 40 hours in the last 3 days… I’m hoping there’s a light at the end of the tunnel somewhere soon…

6 years ago, I had a lot less STUFF going on. I had more time to obsess about what a terrible homemaker I was. that fact has not changed, I just have less time to actually do something about it. I don’t know if that’s a good thing, or a bad thing, but my house is always messy, as usual, preparing creative meals that people will actually eat is still a struggle I don’t enjoy in the least, and even my laundry has been known to get behind! I know! (gasp!) I still wish I could somehow be one of those neat, organized people, who just somehow DOES all of that stuff easily and without having to remind myself that I’m actually supposed to DO something about it, but that’s another fact that hasn’t changed about me.

I’m at the point in the year where I’m starting to look forward to summer, when we don’t have to be anywhere at any certain time. ahhhh… if that doesn’t sound like vacation, I don’t know what does. vast blank pages on the calendar… oh, I can’t wait!

but now it’s bed time, and I’m totally getting sleepy… nighty night, bloggers, I promise to post more interesting stuff later. assuming we actually do some interesting stuff.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...