Skip to main content

a open, bullet-point letter to sports fans and participants everywhere

just a few thoughts I’ve had on the subject of sports recently. between skating and football, I’m a little bit disillusioned by sports and people’s reaction to them.

  • it takes two teams to play a football game. (or any other competitive sport, for that matter.) without the other team, you have nothing to play. the other team is just that: the other team. they are not the enemy. they are not the “bad guys”. they are not the spawn of the devil. they are the other team.
  • as the other team, they do their job, you do yours. train. play hard. do your best. make every possible, allowable effort to win the game. this is the responsibility of both teams. and what makes for a good, competitive game.
  • it is lots of fun to support your team, especially when they are winning. being a fan is awesome. okay ways to express this would be to buy jerseys, wave flags, go to games, cheer your team on, put stickers on your car, etc.
  • not okay ways to express this would be to personally insult players from the opposing team, personally insult fans of the opposing team, to use derogatory terms to describe fans or players from the opposing team, to throw food at injured players from the opposing team, etc. I thought this should be part of the common code of conduct for civilized human beings, but I’ve been proven wrong in recent weeks.
  • when your team (or favorite competitor – for individual sports) wins, celebrate! enjoy the win, but in a gracious way.
  • when your team (or favorite) loses, be gracious about that as well. do not express your disappointment with anger or insults.
  • back story: when I was in college, I made an uncharacteristic decision and joined a sorority. one of the ‘rules’ of the sorority, was that members were not to drink, smoke, or do things while wearing their letters that would reflect badly on the sorority. while my 18 year old, generation X, rebellious self found the existence of those constraints to be annoying at the time, I can see the wisdom behind it.
  • the point: when wearing team colors, YOU speak for the team. the second you put on that jersey and step on the field, YOU no longer represent only yourself and where you come from. you represent the team, the organization, and the city that supports you. with your words AND your actions.
  • when kids play sports, they are taught a lot of things. one of those things is the rules of the game and strategies for playing it well. another of those things is good sportsmanship. during the game, they are encouraged to play fairly and nicely. at the end of the game, they are encouraged, if not required, to do a cheer for the OTHER team, shake hands or high five and say “good game” to their opponents. and then they have snacks.
  • they are not encouraged to taunt the other team. they are also not encouraged to use expletives as they celebrate their victory or bemoan their defeat.
  • winning AND losing both happen in sports, and learning to be a good sport under both circumstances is important.
  • perhaps our youth sports programs need to revisit this idea and emphasize it a little bit more.
  • spectators of youth sports are required to exhibit good sportsmanship as well. they are not allowed to heckle, yell at, or insult the other team’s players, coaches, or the officials of the game.
  • and finally, keep in mind that it is a sport. it is not a war. whether it is little league, the olympics, or the super bowl. it is a sport, played by people. people with friends and families and goals they have fought hard to achieve. whether they are on your team or play for your country, or not, they deserve your respect as athletes and as human beings.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...