Skip to main content

week 28 in pictures

busy, busy week, with a weird twist…

sunday: meet “carrot guy”. micah is way into making his food into people or flowers, or some other such picture lately.013

monday: on the train at “rumblinger” farms with MOMS Club friends! 038

tuesday: new use for the clothesline: it’s a cat run! toby did eventually wiggle out of his harness, but he only went as far as the garden. he so desperately wants to be an outside cat.115

wednesday: while running birthday prep errands for her and shane’s impending birthdays, it became quite apparent that layla was NOT feeling very well. sore throat, cough, and what turned out to be a fever. she finally fell asleep on the way home in the back seat and stayed there for at least an hour after we got home. 005

thursday: with most of her birthday plans thwarted by illness, we had a mellow day at home that eventually included opening gifts and having her requested dinner of french toast. she wanted brownies for her birthday dessert.034

friday: AND… another birthday! shane’s 14th was great. he got to go go-karting with his friend, grant and then we had KFC for dinner and he requested cookie dough for his dessert. it was awesome. we put candles in it and sang and everything. then he got the whole tub to himself. (don’t worry, we had a second tub for the rest of us.)070

saturday: start of the STP! shane, dave, kat, and cole (plus noah and luka) all rode this year. they were quite the entourage.076

and some skinnies to stick in center pockets:

  1. layla still has her mad wii boxing skills
  2. last day to be 7
  3. she’s 8!!! (with a birthday bowl of lucky charms
  4. shane’s last day to be 13 (10 fingers + 3 paws)

112 006008 039

and then some instagrams:

when micah butters corn:111

I was out all day the day before in like 3 different grocery stores and target twice… couldn’t manage to remember that I needed dishwasher detergent…011

crawly made a cocoon while we were in california so we have been patiently awaiting what was going to happen next! he made it! he’s a moth! and layla decided that his name should now be “fluttery” instead of crawly.042

layla, julie, and all the other julies at the american girl store, spending some birthday $$ from grandma and grandpa.044

julie got herself some rollerblades!052

layla stuck this on my back. awesome.056

and some big collages from all our busyness.

2 from remlinger farms:2013-08-0692013-08-0610

and 1 of birthday celebrations:2013-08-0611

I’ll add book shots once I get my pics back and into the book.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...