Skip to main content

“rumbling”er farms: 2013 edition

we have this local ‘farm’ that is actually more country store/amusement park than it is farm. they do have u-pick berries seasonally, and a pumpkin patch/corn maze thing in the fall, but my kids have always liked to go for the rides. it’s definitely aimed at the preschool-lower elementary crowd. it’s actually called remlinger farms, but shane started calling it “rumbling” farms when he was little. layla subsequently adopted it as well, so we have always just called it “rumbling”. now, apparently, she’s picked up on the “er” part at the end, and added that. I’ll be sad when everyone actually calls it the right name. we probably will have outgrown it by then.

Sad smile

a groupon came out in june for 2 for 1 tickets, and it got put on the MOMS Club calendar, so we made plans to go on monday. layla and micah had a blast.

pony rides:020022025

these are actually lined up in front of a stagecoach the kids can climb into.032

on the train that takes you through the whole park.038

the canoe ride.040

the swing carousel.049051

roller coaster.054

selfie on the flying pumpkin ride.056

across the ride. micah rode with his friend.058

at the pedal go-karts. layla was SUPER excited that she was finally big enough for this ride.064

of course, they were not being very particular about the size of the kids they were letting on, and micah got to ride, too. the size requirement is to make sure you can reach the pedals to navigate the course. he got stuck at one point and had to be pushed.065066

there’s an old school bus and and old fire truck the kids can play in.068

they have animals there too. this mom and pop peacock had 3 babies!!! I have never seen peacock babies before and they were adorable. I want one.070

the antique cars.074080

the petting farm.081084090

back on the train w/ donkeys in the background.096

more pony rides.106107

and one last turn on the roller coaster. micah had really wanted to ride in the front car. he was ecstatic.109

it was not very crowded, so the lines were all but nonexistent. the kids could pretty much ride as many times as they wanted. the weather was awesome and we had a great time with our friends. we stayed until the park closed, and then went in to the country store for ice cream cones.

it’s kind of expensive, so we usually only make it once a year, if that. but the kids are already planning their next trip.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...