Skip to main content

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse.

anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer.

i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 kids WORSE, i did by going to this store.  the whole fiasco took like an hour.  why, you ask?  allow me to enlighten you.

first of all, i was in a new store.  i’ve been there maybe twice ever, so i don’t know the layout, i don’t know what aisles contain what, i don’t have my mental ‘map’ of where i start and how i proceed to finish in the quickest possible time.  there was lots of back-tracking and circling as i realized that i’d missed an aisle, or had gone to one end of the store, but forgotten something on the list that was back at the other end.  ugh!

second, i had shane with me.  one would think that having a 9 year old with you would be easier than the 1 year old or the 3 year old.  NO!  there are a couple of reasons for this that i confirmed yesterday.  1) he’d rather be somewhere else. 2) he irritates layla, making her very unpleasant. 3) HE ASKS FOR STUFF!!!! oh, i hate this!  the reason feeds into this…

third, i’m pretty sure i have a little bit of ADD. i’ve never been diagnosed or anything, but it’s pretty obvious.  i’m scattered and flaky, every report card i ever brought home made some mention of day-dreaming and neglecting to complete my work, i forget stuff, yada yada yada… so a big store that i’m unfamiliar with, a kid on my back (who would grab things off the shelf behind me if i got too close to it, and then was unable to reach behind me to get it out of his hand), a kid in the cart (who was introducing herself and her brothers to EVERY shopper and employee we passed… not to mention had a notebook and pen with her and was showing me every little drawing she made and asking me every 5 seconds, “how do you make an ‘s’, how do you make a ‘u’”…) and another kid who kept asking “can we get some of this, do we need this, i like this, please mom can we get some of that…” and picking up every package of chicken and ground beef in the case while standing there… “shane, stop touching all of the chicken.” “but i like chicken.” “do you also like salmonella?”  all of this led to me being completely unable to concentrate or even read my list for that matter.  seriously, i would look at the paper, and see words on it, but they would just swirl around and around and i had to make a conscious effort to block out everything and purposefully read the words i had written, figure out what they meant, and to formulate a plan for how to find that item.  aaaggghhhhh!!!!!

i know that all the parenting books and experts and all that jazz say to involve your children in the shopping and it will make it a lot more pleasant for you, entertain/educate them, blah blah blah.  that seriously isn’t an option for me.  MAYBE if i had only 1 kid with me and only a few things on the list… but i have a hard enough time figuring out how i’m going to do it myself, let alone somehow delegate things to the kids. 

so anyway, we finally finished the shopping and i felt like i needed a drink!  but it’s done, and next week we’ll be back to our normal schedule and i can do it the way i usually do and it’ll be much less painful!

needless to say, i’m already dreading the summer.  i hate that.  i don’t want to be one of those parents who feels the need to sign her kids up for stuff all summer long, just to keep them from driving her crazy.  so somehow, between now and then i’ve got to figure out how to manage all these normal things that i’m used to doing w/ only 2 kids, with 3.  AND, how to make shane and layla get along.  they are just horrible!  gas and fire, i tell ya!  i mean, really, i’d like to somehow have shane experience a miraculous change of heart and start actually loving his sister and thus treating her like he does… but in the meantime, i just need him to STOP poking and kicking and irritating and bossing her around!  he’s never been a mean kid and it just kills me to see him being so mean to her. 

so… that got long.  i’ll shut up now.

Comments

  1. We just need to trade kids a few times a week during the summer...one day I'll take Shane and you take Austin...the other I'll take Layla and you take Sara...then they won't get sick of their siblings and can have a chance to be mean...I mean PLAY with someone else ;) HA HA At the very least drop Shane (and Layla if you want ;)) off before going grocery shopping!!! I usually go after bedtime here...THIS is why bedtime even in the summer is 8:00 at the LATEST! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. You are not alone. I'm ok taking any 2 of my kids to the store with me, but I add that 3rd and thin gs just fall apart. But I'm lucky that Wes gets home from work by 3:30 usually, so I can put it off until he gets home and go all by myself. Or at worst, just with Mackenzie, who likes to grocery shop and actually doesn't bother my for things. Andplanning summer activities isn't just about keeping you sane, its about keeping him sane too. Older kids sometimes just need more stimulation than a mom with 2 younger kids can provide sometimes.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Have just taken the time to sit and read and absorb your post Rachel! I totally get that grocery shopping is a mind blowing experience with kids! I dread it too and know that it is gonna cost me way more than it would normally cost on my own. I try and give my kids jobs, such as Jonathan go get me the cereal and I also do bribes ;D if everyone is a big help and well behaved then we can get a tub of iceceam or 'A' candy at the checkout! Am I bad mama? What ever keeps them alive eh! HaHa

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh man, I'm dreading it for you. Grocery shopping before nap time is a killer for me. I end up buying them things to snack on and listen to them push each other and laugh until one of them gets hurt and they they are both screaming.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...