Skip to main content

week 21 in pictures

there is not a lot of variety in this week’s pictures. the biggest excitement came in the form of my long awaited clothesline.

sunday: first load hung up!143

monday: basketball hoop propping up the saggy line in the middle.2013-05-281

tuesday: micah, demonstrating what he does as the “light helper” at preschool when that’s his job. he also has to check and make sure the bathroom lights are out when they leave the room.002

wednesday: not related to the clothesline, but following the same theme… year-round, we have a lot of cycling/workout clothes that must be line dried. we’ve had a couple of different contraptions that we’ve used to accomplish this, but I suggested that we install a closet rod on the wall next to the washer so it would be handy, high enough off the ground to be out of the way, and permanent. 008

thursday: rainy track meet. layla and micah huddled under the umbrella in the bleachers and ate snacks.022

friday: another clothesline shot. sorry. I’m sort of obsessed. the novelty is sure to wear off eventually, right?004

saturday: layla went to a roller skating birthday party and opted to rent roller blades this time instead of quads. it seems the birthday girl had told her ahead of time that she should wear white because it will glow under the rink’s black lights. she wanted white from head to toe, and thought she couldn’t wear a shirt with any printing on it. I assured here it would be okay. the most white we could come up with was a mostly white shirt and a skirt with white tights. apparently she glowed just fine and was quite pleased with her outfit. (side note: I just love that this rink has figures drawn on the wood. I never really thought about roller skaters doing figures, but ice skaters certainly did (sadly, no longer). of course, most skating rinks are shared with hockey players, and the hockey markings seem to always be there under the ice. also, because every level had different figures associated with it and the size of your figures was related to your height, you couldn’t just have them painted on. we all had our own scribes which scratched the circles into the ice. and then there was the ‘loop’ tracer (see the loop [curlicue] at the top of the figure?) which you would trace with a marker. oh wow… that was an odd and unexpected trip down memory lane. I really hope there are a couple skaters reading this post because everyone else just glazed over. LOL!IMAG0142

and some skinnies: 1) white board drawing layla made of a town she made up called hedge hog valley. 2) I had an enormous pile of ironing to tackle. ginger is such a clingy people dog. she always wants to be where you are, regardless of what you’re doing.

002 023

and I made two big collages of my instagram pics for the week. they didn’t come out square, but I’m going to decide that I don’t care.2013-05-2822013-05-283

book shots 048051054

linking up with the mom creative for project life tuesday.

PL-TuesdaySM

Comments

  1. your collection of photos are a great way of documenting the family life

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...