Skip to main content

valentine’s day

{I wrote this as an article for our MOMS Club newsletter, but decided to post it here, as well. don’t fall over because of the capitalization - like I said, it was originally written for another venue. see? I really DO know now to write correctly… I just choose not to most of the time!}

Every year, I’m surprised by all the anti-Valentine’s Day sentiment expressed by my single friends, on TV shows, movies, the radio, etc. Granted, I’m married, and don’t really have to worry about having “a Valentine”, but I don’t remember feeling that way, even when I was single. People seem to be under the impression that Valentine’s Day is a holiday that exists for the sole purpose of pointing out a single person’s aloneness. I find this really odd, and the last few years, I’ve started to wonder why.

We start kids out giving Valentines to each other in Preschool, helping the 3 year old, painstakingly print his name 12 times in a row across his Spiderman Valentines, and high-fiving after each one. In elementary school, it’s more important what kind of treats get taped onto your Valentines. Stickers, tattoos, Nerds, etc. So, why is it, that after elementary school, we stop considering Valentine’s Day a holiday to celebrate our friends and family (you know, the people that we LOVE), and decide that it’s become strictly a romantically involved couple’s holiday?

I think, the biggest reason I never felt that way, is because, as far back as I can remember, my mom gave me special Valentine’s treats and my dad brought flower or balloons for BOTH my mom and me. My mom had this special little tin bucket with hearts on the side, and a teddy bear on the lid. It was only about 3 or 4 inches tall, but every year, I knew what was inside it, and every year, I looked forward to Valentine’s Day because of it. Back when I was growing up, Totem Lake Mall in Kirkland, was almost an actual mall, with thriving stores, a movie theatre, and prowling teenagers. You know, a mall. Right in the middle, outside of the Pay & Save was a little, independent, hole-in-the-wall candy shop. They sold all sorts of fun delicacies including my absolute favorite, white chocolate stars. Just little star shaped drop candies, but they were wonderful. It was the only day out of the whole year that I got them, and in my mind, there was something magical about it. So it’s all tied up together for me: my dad and his rose, my mom, the tin bucket with the teddy bear on top filled to the top with magical white chocolate stars, and Valentine’s Day.

I tell you this excessively sweet story from my childhood, not to imply that you need to give your kids candy on Valentine’s Day. Obviously, there’s plenty of that to be found. But consider the precedent that MY parents set for me, by making a bold statement that this was a holiday for everyone to celebrate, and one with which to do something special for the people you love. How can you make Valentine’s Day special, not only for your spouse, but for your kids as well?

Comments

  1. I give my kids get one of those cheesey heart shaped boxes of candy for valentine's day each year. The chocolate is horrible, but they look forward to it every year and even save that silly box for a few months until I manage to get them to throw it out. So maybe they'll grow up to see it as a holiday for everyone to celebrate, too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. i always wanted one of those! and, when i was teaching, i would save those boxes if i could get ahold of one and we'd do marble painting in them. cut a piece of construction paper to fit the inside of the box, throw some marbles in a couple different colors of paint, drop them onto the paper, put the lid on, and let the kids shake the heck out of it. they loved it.

      Delete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...