Skip to main content

week 52 in pictures

this week is super-funky. we have christmas eve, day, etc. and then a repeat with dave’s parents, once we got to cali. lots of days with multiple events or multiple pictures of each event… ugh. such a pain to weed through! not that there’s anything wrong with having lots of pictures, it just takes some time to edit and choose and all that.

monday: christmas eve. we always take a family picture by one of the trees in the church after the christmas eve service.057

tuesday: christmas morning. just before everyone came downstairs. (the pile of presents on the mantel are what won’t fit in micah’s super-skinny stocking. this happens every year. layla only had one this year that didn’t fit. and shane’s stocking is HUGE, so it’s not usually an issue.)058

wednesday: dave, layla, and shane, all playing with micah’s pirate ship before heading out on our long drive to california. where’s micah? no idea.136

thursday: christmas morning all over again in gramma and papa’s living room!144

friday: 7 or so hours in the way back seat of the van, sandwiched between shane and layla (who bickered the WHOLE time)so we could go see the iowa dapelos, who were in SOCAL.288

also friday: having pizza for dinner after we all finally arrived. notice, the 3 girls together at one end and micah and jacob together at the other end. poor matthew was a little antisocial – given that he was asleep!IMG_20121228_202150

saturday: papa, gramma, and 2 families’ worth of grandkids at our hotel room.IMG_4845-001

and some skinnies: 1. giving ginger treats in my infamous christmas jammies (I wear these ONLY on christmas!). 2. micah enjoying one of the complimentary cookies at our hotel.461380_10151210832733977_424658421_o 289

and several big collages from christmas, etc…

christmas morning:2013-01-07

playing with new toys:2013-01-071

christmas day with grandma and grandpa:2013-01-072

christmas with gramma and papa:2013-01-0712

our visit with the iowa dapelos. brief, but fun.2013-01-081

saturday, at the mall in socal:2013-01-074

{book shots will be added later}

Comments

you may like...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...

first day of school

so, we started school today. this is a big deal because it is OUR first day of official homeschooling. you know, here. at home. most everyone reading this is already aware of the fact that shane has been homeschooled since first grade, but that he has spent the majority of that ‘school’ time, with my mother as his ‘teacher’. this was a fine arrangement, she was willing and more than qualified, and he was learning. but for a variety of reasons, not the least of which being my mother’s current cancer issues, it had become clear that it was time for me to take over. AND,with layla being 4 now, i really wanted to do a little bit more preschool stuff with her. being a little bit of a chicken flake, i (with much urging from my loving husband) decided the best route to go would be with a packaged curriculum. i figured it would be the most time-effective way to cover what we needed to cover, and be somewhat dummy-proof, but at the same time, having the option to supplement with as much ...

what I wore wednesday

so… here we go again! another week, another series of outfits that attempt to look cute, coordinate, and not be jammies or sweats. it’s starting to act like fall around here. chilly in the morning, foggy, warming up to the low 70’s by afternoon. except yesterday. I think we topped out at 65 and it was FREEZING! at any rate, that means I’m starting to reach for more layers, long sleeves, and my skirts and capris are being replaced by a boring, 9 month long onslaught of long pants… but the good news about all of that is that I dug out my uggs for the first time today! woohoo! I have warm, toasty, comfy feet right now… the bad news is that you can pretty much plug those into any picture I take of my outfits from here until next may. it’s a win-lose situation. I think I’ve covered every day except saturday. I did get dressed… and I had a picture, but it was horrible, and after looking at it, I can’t believe I went out in public with my hair looking like that! at any rate, I am going to do ...

cpl party, finally

last saturday was dave’s company party, and as promised, here are some pictures. there aren’t a whole lot that really show my non-ridiculous dress, and none that show my fabulously, uncomfortably cute red shoes, but this is what i’ve got. see my cute red bag? my shoes matched it. that’s me w/ my back to the camera… white sash. it was a "blues brother’s" theme… notice all the hats and the band. made for very fun dancing music! mr. ‘white man’s overbite’, himself. more dancing. really, i did dance with my husband, just not when anyone was taking a picture. okay, dave just sent me a new one that someone else took. we’re actually dancing together, AND, you can see my shoes… disregard the totally goofy look on my face. sorry that the pictures and captions are a little funky. i usually use live writers to do posts w/ pictures in them but for some reason, it wouldn't publish to blogger right now, so i had to redo the post and the pictures never line up right...