Skip to main content

what I wore wednesday

it’s wednesday again, so here I am, happily reporting that I did not wear jammies all week! and linking up.wiww

wednesday:006

first off, excuse the fact that I’m giving somebody the mom stink eye in this photo… I think I had kids bickering in the hall or something…

  • top: express via thrift store
  • jeans: gap via thrift store
  • black mary jane’s: born

I love these shoes. there are very few actual shoes that I like. okay, that’s not true. I LIKE a lot of shoes. I don’t like to wear a lot of shoes. I have very sensitive feet and wearing shoes that actually enclose my toes drives me nuts. in the summer, I live in flip flops and in the winter, I live in uggs. it’s the closest you can get to NOT wearing shoes. socks drive me nuts, too. I think it has to do with years and years of my feet being shoved into these: figure-skates or these: pointe-shoes 

for many hours of the day for many years… yeah, sensitive feet. but born shoes are one of the few brands I’ve found that are 100% comfortable (and 100% cute), even though they’re REAL shoes! now, if only they were cheap…

at any rate, this outfit is perfect for a parent/student meeting at the junior high your kid will be attending in a week, and a sunday school planning meeting at church, plus dinner! (p.s. don’t you just love the sparkles on the shoulders??? I do!)

thursday:   011

  • top: ross (a million years ago)
  • jeans: thrifted
  • SIL on the phone: courtesy of my husband’s brother! ;) hi mary!
  • coffee mug: handmedown from my mom
  • hairdo: idea courtesy of the pleated poppy! 025

this outfit is perfect for another trip to the pediatrician. and, of course, as soon as I’d decided to cut off all my hair, this brilliant 3 bun hairstyle shows up. LOVE! so, I had to try it out at least once. I was skeptical about how well my hair would hold it, but it actually lasted all day!

friday:       038

  • top: handmedown
  • jeans: handmedown
  • belt: walmart
  • jade necklace: family heirloom

so… my daughter wanted to “do my hair” that day… the results were a little bit odd, but whatever, it made her happy. 018  020

I really didn’t have much going on this day, except a mountain of laundry to deal with, some general kid dropping and fetching, and that sort of thing.

saturday:   060

well, I really thought I’d escaped my not-so-awesome soccer mom apparel this day, until I was going through the pictures I took on my camera from our full saturday of soccer and found all the pics my 4 year old took to entertain himself… and there I was.

nothing even remotely exciting to report about this outfit, and the shoes were a HUGE mistake. I love my chucks, don’t get me wrong. they are a replacement for a pair of identical ones I had in college that I literally wore until they fell apart. however, remember my above story about my hatred of wearing shoes? these are like the epitome of everything I hate about wearing shoes. they’re great if I don’t have to walk anywhere, but that day I swear I walked miles and miles around all the soccer fields. I wanted to wear real shoes (not flip flops) because I knew that the grass would be all wet in the morning. I had intended to wear some running shoes, but in our rush to get out the door, I went into the garage and discovered that they weren’t on the shelf, so I just threw these on instead. ugh. by the afternoon games, I had ditched them and spent the rest of the afternoon barefoot.

sunday:      081

  • top: handmedown
  • skirt: anne klein via thrift store (THIS is the famous $99 skirt that I paid 99 cents for. not only is it a really nice skirt, the excitement of that bargain makes it even nicer. the original store tag was still on it when I bought it at the thrift store. I can’t remember what it was marked there, but it was the color tag that was .99 that day. SCORE!
  • sandals: payless (super old!)

 076  077

so yeah, that’s what a $99 skirt looks like!

monday:    002

so, quite obviously, this was a cleaning day. and I dressed appropriately. it was also the last day before my scheduled haircut and my hairdresser had sent me an email in which she mentioned something about me probably having the best hair day ever since I was planning to whack it all off the next day. so I made sure that didn’t happen by wadding it up in a messy bun. HA!

tuesday:    038

haircut day!

  • top: giants clubhouse at at&t park courtesy of my hubby (this was a make-up shirt to replace the not-so-awesome one he had bought me the previous summer. **coughcoughbrightorangetshirtcoughcough**)
  • capris: gap via thrift store

long hair, down, hasn’t been washed in days and days and days… just waiting to be whacked off. and I do mean whacked!

040  049

happy wednesday, everyone! what’cha wearin’?

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...