Skip to main content

lookie what I just did!!!!

I’m so proud of myself that I just have to stop and brag a bit! I have this room in my house… it’s the laundry room. it’s also the “mud room” sort of… meaning it’s the room between the garage and the rest of the house, where we all enter through… where we all take off our shoes and leave them all over the floor… where the boys dump their cycling gear when they come in from a ride… where we all dump the mail, or the groceries, or whatever it is you have in your hands when you come in the door… where boxes and baskets of “I don’t know what to do with this” after moving land… you get the idea.

pair that with laundry that needs to be done, laundry that has been done, laundry that is hanging to dry, laundry that needs to be ironed, cleaning supplies, dog dishes, cat box, etc. etc. etc… AND the fact that this room also happens to possess a large, flat surface and you have the perfect storm. the perfect recipe for a disaster zone, and that it was!

I really should have taken ‘before’ pics, but that might have been too embarrassing. but I actually DID SOMETHING with all of it!

library books put into the car to be returned. donation pile for micah’s preschool put into the car to take tomorrow. piles of papers sorted and tossed or filed in one of those drawers. bike helmets, etc, put in drawer or upper cupboard. random junk boxes sorted and put someplace… it’s so awesome to SEE the counter. AND, see that outlet on the wall? I didn’t know that was there. isn’t that pathetic? but just look at all that clean open space? I want to do something cute to it so it will look nice and not get cluttered up again… (wishful thinking, I know.)006

notice that there aren’t any clothes or random other things on top of the dryer? I have the basket of hangers there for stuff that needs to be hung to dry, but everything else is gone. I stashed the ironing board against the far wall (it used to be in between the dryer and the counter), and shoved the clothes hanger things into that space. and YES, I CLEANED the washer and dryer. I got out a bottle of cleaner and a rag and I cleaned off my washer and dryer. (I know all you people who do this sort of thing weekly, think that is not a big deal, but my washer and dryer has always been in a nasty garage before now, and I just didn’t care!)007

I took all the random cleaning supplies off the counter by the sink and stashed them in the upper cupboard, MOVED the cat box and actually vacuumed all the loose cat litter up, put a clean towel under the dog water, and wiped down the counter and the faucet.008

that little corner has a basket for mail (that does need to still be sorted/filed), my purse, and the key basket. and shane hung the pin board for me. 009

SO excited! woohoo!

okay, thanks for letting me brag…

and now real life calls… gotta go wipe a butt, get gas, drop a kid off for a sleepover, return library books, pick up pictures, come back and clean the REST of my house!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...