Skip to main content

totally random workouts

so, I like to exercise. like, a lot. unfortunately, it’s not always easy or affordable to do what I really want to do. I have a long list of all of the different activities I really want to do, but it’s not really feasible for me to do all, or even most of them at this point in my life.

  • yoga
  • ballet
  • figure skating
  • crossfit
  • barre 3
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • weight training
  • pilates
  • gymnastics
  • soccer
  • long walks
  • etc, etc, etc… I’m sure I could add to it.

but, even the most active person, with unlimited funds, no children, job, or other responsibilities could not make all of that happen. boo hiss, that’s life.

my main restrictions are money and kid-free time.

as much as I’d love to return to skating, money is going to be the biggest factor there. just for starters, I don’t really have 500 spare benjamins to drop on a new pair of boots that I can actually get my feet into without wincing, squishing, or swearing… that’s assuming I can remount my old blades. and then there’s awesome stuff like ice time and coaching, and I’m just not really seeing that happen. skating is not a cheap sport.

so, I do what I can do.

there’s a church close by to me that has a great workout program going on called ‘revive and thrive’. I started going in the fall because 1) it was close, 2) it was free, and 3) they offered childcare. awesome. it’s basically a jazzercize kind of class. I go now because of all of the above 3 reasons, but also because I have several friends who go as well now, and it’s fun. I enjoy the dance element of it. even though it’s one of those relaxed, as long as you’re moving, it’s good kind of situations, I like the challenge of getting all the steps right. it’s a workout for the brain as well. plus there’s some weight training and straight muscle work as well as stretching after all the dance/cardio. probably not my first choice, but super convenient, and also fun.

I also like to find different workouts on the ‘on demand’ feature on my cable. lots of times they have different barre 3 (or the like) type workouts that I can do in my living room. I had to find one today because my class was cancelled due to the snow. after I finished that, I decided to go through a series of other random body weight-resistance type exercises. planks, sit-ups, and jumping squats. threw in a few burpees as well, but one set of those wore me out quick.

but I do this all the time. I’ll just get a totally random bee in my bonnet to work a certain area, or do a certain kind of exercise. and why not? is there any law that says you have to do the same thing at the same time every day? actually, there is a lot of evidence to show that giving your muscles a little bit of a surprise every now and then is actually more effective than the same old routine. mixing it up is good!

so anyway, over the weekend, I got one of those totally random bees buzzing around in my bonnet to see if I could do handstand pushups. well, I tried it, and I guess I sort of can. I’m going to practice and see if I can get stronger to do more reps and deeper dips. it was fun though.

I’ve also been challenged to do the splits. it’s been awhile, and I’m nowhere even close right now, but I’ll work on it. flexibility is big on my list of fitness goals right now, so that works in perfectly.

Comments

  1. You should look for a pair of used skates--just for recreation. And then see if any of your rinks have season passes to public sessions. I have found that quite a few rinks are now offering a great discount on public sessions and noon day publics are mostly always empty. Its something to think about anyway. Sure, if recreational boots you would be as comfortable doing jumps or spins, but at least stroking would be good for the soul. Better then nothing.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...