Skip to main content

more project life love!

so, back in april, I bought 2 PL album kits. the amber and the turquoise, which were the 2011 designs. my intent was to put 2 years’ worth of photos in each book. I got to work on 2007 and 2008 right away, and stuck them in the turquoise album.001 currently, all the pictures are in and 2007 is completely done with journaling and everything. still need to do 2008, but that’ll happen some time.

since then, the amber kit has been sitting on my shelf, unopened, just waiting for me to get my pictures together. at the end of november, snapfish offered penny prints and I went for it. I got all of 2005 and 2006’s photos edited, organized, and ordered. I knew that I would have to deal with the non-digital photos I had (we got our first digital camera in may of 2005) eventually.

well, that box of snapfish prints has been sitting on my shelf, taunting me for a good 3 weeks now. I was disciplined. I had vowed NOT to touch it until after christmas, and I didn’t.  last night, however, at 10:58pm, I caved. I don’t know what possessed me, but I couldn’t hold off any longer. initially, my plan was just to cut apart the vertical pics (which I printed, 2 on a 4x6, so as to use them in the small slots). so I did that. then I thought I should sort them, roughly, by month. so I did that. then I had to sort the rest of the pictures, into those piles as well. then I had to check my files on the computer, to make sure everything was in the right month and order. so then I was sitting there, with 20 neat stacks of photos, laid out on my dining room table. it was too much. so I opened up the amber kit.

ahhh… it was glorious. it is everything I expected it to be and more. I am completely and totally in love with it.

but I digress.

so then I decided to just put a few of the pictures in. just a few. I started at the back, going in reverse from december 2006. I decided to do it that way, because I didn’t know how many pictures I had from the start of 2005. so I put in december, then november, then october… you get the idea. pretty soon, dave got up.

yup. it was 5am. I had everything in it, up through august of 2005.

oops.

I wasn’t really that tired, but the reality that I have kids who WILL get up at some point in the morning kind of kicked in. (that, and the fact that I’d been kneeling on the dining room floor for probably 3 hours.) so I hobbled off to bed (I think I finally have all the feeling back in my feet), even though I had 3 neat stacks sitting on the table, calling my name.

so, morning came. late, thankfully. vacation is awesome for letting your kids stay up late (and thus, sleep in late!). at 9am, I was a TOTALLY AWESOME MOM, turned on tangled (which they had requested the night before), and went back to bed.

when the movie was over, I made myself 2 cups of coffee, instead of 1, and sat down to ‘finish up’. hahaha!

003 I put the rest of those 3 neat little stacks in. but no, I couldn’t just leave it there.

I attacked THE BOX. you know the one. we all have them. the big, scary, black hole of pictures that you’re “going to do something with” someday. 006 fortunately, my box is relatively organized, and I was able to quickly find the sections of pictures for 2005 that I wanted. several of them were repeats, because I had printed a lot of the digital stuff already (and then forgot that I did that, and printed them again), but it was fun to see some of the prints that are pre-digital. we have all of our pictures cycling though our computer as our screen saver and wallpaper, so I’m constantly seeing our pictures, even really old ones. but this was fun to see.

at any rate, I found them, sorted them, cropped the vertical ones to fit in small slots (because I’m totally anal about the vertical ones not going in horizontal slots. seriously. I couldn’t handle it.), and got EVERYTHING in! EVERYTHING! as in, it’s done! 005

all I have left to do is the journaling. which I REALLY REALLY want to do right now, but I’m restraining myself.

between the picture/paper mess I’ve made of the dining room with this, and the fact that my kids entertained themselves with paper, scissors, and watercolor paints today, and that my in-laws are coming tomorrow, I really need to tidy up.

and I swear, I’m going to bed at a decent hour tonight.

Comments

  1. It's... beautiful. *wipes away single tear of joy*

    You going to post some interior shots, too, at some point?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...