Skip to main content

week 36 in pictures

sunday:2011-09-04    monday was our actual anniversary, but we went out on sunday afternoon/evening. ever since I was a kid, and would cross the 520 bridge, I would always look down in the water by the arboretum and see people paddling around in canoes. it looked like so much fun and I’ve always wanted to do it, so we did! honestly, it was totally as great as I had imagined it would be, maybe even better! not outrageously exciting, but still, SO fun. we will definitely do this again. after that, we headed over to varlamo’s for dinner and finished of the evening w/ some starbucks and a stroll around u village.

monday:2011-09-05    it was labor day, and dave didn’t have to work, so he and shane went fishing with our neighbor, chuck. shane was SUPER excited to go (big truck hauling a big boat, putting big boat in the water, driving big boat, fishing, putting big boat back on trailer and hauling it home behind big truck… you get the idea. doesn’t get much more shane than that.). dave was pretty excited too, even though he’d never fished before. they wound up catching 5 salmon; 4 pink and 1 coho, and were back by 1. amy, adam, and finnigan came over for dinner and dave grilled the coho. sound-to-plate in around 6 hours. how’s that for fresh dinner! we had a great time and a great dinner.

tuesday:2011-09-06    this is the way I’m putting this pic in the book (because it’s oriented vertically), so I’ll just post it here like that.

wednesday:005     that’s shane with our neighbor, chuck. chuck’s wife, terry, recently got this spider 3 wheeled ‘motorcycle’ and shane thinks it’s the greatest thing ever.

thursday:137     several of my raspberry bushes are STILL producing! look at all those green ones! it’s not enough to do anything with, at this point, but it’s a great little treat for me when I go out to water the garden. I have no idea why these aren’t done like the rest of the bushes, but I’m not complaining!

friday:136     you know how, when your kids are babies, you take a million pictures of them sleeping? and then you stop. probably because they start doing more interesting stuff that you can take pictures of… this just struck me as so cute, so I had to take a picture. poor guy had had a little fever the day before and a little bit in the night, too. still, so cute!

saturday:2011-09-10     saturday was the start of soccer season! that’s all I have to say about that, since I already posted everything there is to post about it.

the end.

Comments

  1. I thought I had already commented but apparently not...
    Joe and I went on a paddle boat when we went to Catalina Island before we were "official". It was so much fun! There is just something about little boats I think. I should mention that we ran into a fairly large yacht. Awkward!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...