Skip to main content

week 29 in pictures

sunday:023    layla FINALLY decided she was brave enough to change her earrings. she got these earrings from my parents for her birthday, and conceded that it would be okay to wear them to church on sunday to show them. so she did. it was slightly traumatic as I had a heck of a time getting the backings off her studs, but then my parents didn’t even come to church that day!

monday:2011-07-18    this is SO typical of shane. I was doing the laundry and, as usually, zipping zippers and checking pockets. shane has this crazy mindless habit of shredding whatever it is that happens to be in his pocket. like seriously SHREDDING. this time we had kleenex in the right pocket and starburst wrappers in the left.

tuesday:001     this is what layla’s ankle looked like on tuesday when I took her to the dr. the first time. a tad swollen, you think?

wednesday:003    here’s dave being burly. when he mows the back yard, he has to move the climber so he can mow under it. sometimes shane or I help him, but sometimes he just does it himself. like the lovely spot of dead grass? yeah, that’s where our tent sat for a week. it wouldn’t stop raining long enough for it to dry out so I could take it down. FINALLY!

thursday:004     happy birthday to me! I had to celebrate the occasion by sitting for 2+ hours in the dept. of licensing to get my expiring driver’s license renewed. the kids stayed with my parents and before we left, my dad harvested some snap peas for us. layla found some other creative uses for them besides just being yummy to eat.

friday:012     my dear OLD friend, letitia was in town from michigan (I can say this because I’ve known her since we were probably 5 or 6, if not younger, she was my absolute bestest friend and sanity saver in 6th grade at a new school, AND [most importantly] she’s a day older than me!). we got our kids together to play at the park and had a wonderful time catching up. LOVE this girl as much as always!!!

saturday:013     is this a repeat of the previous saturday? yeah, pretty much. same stomach bug, different victim. on saturday morning, layla got up and was watching some cartoons. I noticed, after about an hour, that she hadn’t touched her bowl of cereal and hadn’t moved from her spot on the couch. I asked her why and she said she wasn’t feeling well and didn’t feel like eating. well, the rest is pretty self-explanatory… she got hit pretty hard and was pretty miserable, but thankfully, was feeling better by sunday.

and the extra pics from the week:2011-07-21

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...