Skip to main content

week 11 in pictures…

so it occurred to me that the pictures I post of my project life weeks are kinda replacing my updating and reporting what is actually going on around here. my bad. so I will try to do better about posting the ACTUAL pictures and explaining what we’ve been up to. (if you don’t care, that’s fine, but I know of a certain SIL and niece who like to see, so this is for them! )

Winking smile

sunday’s POTD – we did a kid swap with some friends. layla went with her age/gender counterpart to her birthday party, and shane’s age/gender counterpart came home from church with us. they spent most of the day shooting each other with nerf guns, recovering darts, and building elaborate stands for their guns with tinkertoys.001015

Also on sunday (because micah was obsessing about certain nerf guns that he was claiming were HIS), I made good on a ‘date’ I owed him and took him out to ice cream at dairy queen. 002

something I learned about micah that day: he doesn’t think cones are edible. he refused to eat it, yet was determined to get every bit of ice cream out of it. it was quite amusing. and messy.011

this is just in here because it was cute. micah backed up and fell backwards into his open tinkertoy barrel and got stuck. he wasn’t very happy about it and all we did was laugh and take pictures. he was not amused.019

monday’s POTD – the big shelf we have in our dining room is all divided up in various cubbies and smaller sections. layla (in keeping with her current dog obsession) considers them to be cages in her imaginary pet shop. when an actual pet gets into one, it’s just a bonus.050

tuesday’s POTD – the continuation. the blossoms on the forsythia bush are opening more and more. I love that this week, layla has her umbrella in the picture.055

I thought it would be cute to photograph our ‘rainy day waiting for the bus’ situation. micah likes to bring his thomas umbrella, but as I’ve learned in the past, he cannot walk while holding it. well, he can’t walk fast. or forward. so I’ve taken to having him hop in the stroller when it’s raining, so he can use his umbrella AND we can actually get to the bus stop in less than a century.054

and I decided to photograph some other ‘signs of spring’ I found in our yard. I love crocuses, and I’m very thankful to the squirrel that stole them from my neighbor’s yard for me! 052057

this is how micah fell asleep on tuesday night. 001

wednesday’s POTD – the back of my van after an average sized costco run. with coupons, this is just shy of $200. I thought it might be fun in about 50 years to look back at the stuff we bought, what the packages looked like (think about how funny it is to see a picture of a vintage bottle of windex or a box of crackers), and what stuff costs now.003

thursday, we have no official st. patrick’s day photo, but lots that have people decked out in green. in this one, toby was chasing layla around in circles because she was dragging some yarn. it’s such a cliché, and she thought it was great!001

she’s been trying out shane’s skateboard lately. she’s amazingly (scarily) good at it. she was giving her stuffed dog, scuffy, a ride.028

I took a load of clothes out of the dryer, set it down to do something, came back and found this:029

micah has a weird obsession with his underwear. he likes to take it all out of his drawer and ‘play’ with it in one way or another (more on that in a minute). this time, he was digging through it, looking for buried treasure. why he chose to do this on the dog’s bed, I have no idea. nor do I have any idea if he found what he was looking for…046

thursday’s POTD – dave had some work to finish up at home. he had his CAD program open, and one by one, the kids walked by and asked him what kind of computer game he was playing. by the time the 3rd one asked, he was a little short with the “it’s not a game! this is what I do at work all day!!!” micah was unconvinced, so he climbed up on his lap to watch. he lost interest very quickly…047

friday’s POTD – micah is following in layla’s footsteps, it seems. more often now, I’m finding him busy with paper and some kind of writing utensil.003

saturday, dave made good on the date that layla earned with him (part of our chore system). she had chosen to go to chuck e. cheese. lucky him.040041

after surviving the (up)chuck, they stopped by target to pick up some cards so we can mail out our family pictures (yeah, yeah, I’m getting to it!). when I saw this picture, I knew which target they went to because of the big red balls. layla always likes to climb on them before we go in. and be sure to notice the fabulous bracelet she’s wearing… she traded her hard-earned tickets in at the prize counter for that, a box of nerds, and a couple tattoos.054

okay, here we go again with the underwear… what he’s sitting in, in case you can’t tell, is a swimming pool. the blocks are apparently the water. who builds a pool using UNDERWEAR??? oh, and apparently he ran out of underwear, because the far side is completed with several matchbox cars and a small percy…  I never claimed to have normal children. LOL.057

friday’s POTD – actually, it’s a collage of these (and a few more) pictures from our dinner out. we went to this fabulously fun japanese steakhouse where they cook the food in front of you, with all the appropriate theatrics and silly jokes. 068

layla loved the soup. I love those spoons. why do more cultures not use those? it’s so logical!066

the onion volcano. there was a lot of fire involved in this dinner. very exciting!070

although, micah was not so much a fan of the fire. (or the food, but that was a given, which is why we didn’t bother ordering him anything.)072

part of the dinner preparation involves flipping pieces of shrimp into people’s mouths. I actually caught one! I impressed myself! shane caught one, so did dave, but layla gave a look that indicated she thought the chef was nuts if he thought he was going to flip food at her face.080

but she was all about using the ‘trainer chopsticks’.082

as was shane, although he’s probably old enough to use the regular ones.085

dave used a fork to eat, but still made good use of his chopsticks…091

so there you go. I hope you enjoyed our week! we did.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...