Skip to main content

week 12 in pictures

sunday’s POTD: 001micah is apparently in training for when he loses use of his arms or something. we’ll just hope he doesn’t need to use that ability. ever.

monday’s POTD:005layla has been bugging me to let her choose and print some pictures. we finally did it and she was SO excited to get them put in her album.

an extra pic:006I think this was some sort of rocket. he was running around like a crazy person, making whooshing sounds. and it’s blurry because he was going so fast, NOT because I take bad pictures.

tuesday’s POTD:002layla is well versed in proper scrapbooking. the album isn’t done until you’ve done the ‘writing about the pictures’. I love it. I asked if she wanted to write or if she wanted me to. she said “you write, and I’ll tell you what I want to say.” sounds good to me. I was actually really impressed with her ability to express herself about what was going on and how she felt about each of the pictures. I had her ‘inscribe’ the inside cover of the album herself. she wrote her first and last name, the date on which it was completed: “MRACH 22 2011”, and then she added, “I LOVE MI FRES AND FAMLEE”. I cannot even begin to express how in love with that I am! adorable.

another extra:001

wednesday’s POTD:004in her all-consuming quest to be a dog, the one thing that is always eluding layla is a TAIL! so, in true layla fashion, she made one out of paper. I swear that child could solve any problem by making something out of paper. I’m not sure how, but I’m pretty sure she would even be able to solve the problem of deforestation with… paper? okay, maybe not. but almost any problem. of course, she didn’t want to be a dog alone, so she made one for micah as well.

this one’s an extra pic:005I just thought it was really cute, so I had to include it.

another extra:031layla likes to steal the camera on a regular basis. I never know what I’m going to find when I upload. I thought this was pretty cute though.

another extra that you’ve seen before, but still cute: 047I love the sucked-in cheeks!

thursday’s POTD:049this one made an appearance on facebook. we had shockingly nice weather and they wanted to have a picnic. layla made us all peanut butter sandwiches while I moved the little table outside. she insisted we needed a tablecloth (LOVE this!), so I found a baby blanket that was the right size. side note: the weather has since turned icky again, but the table and stools remain in their spot outside. I can see a big fat slug on the leg of one of the stools. blech…

a random extra:052I really don’t know what this is about. I think she just wanted me to take her picture. this is so classic layla. POSER!

another extra:007I’m really glad I remembered to take my camera with me to my parents’ house this week. micah likes to go outside and ‘work with grandpa’. it’s shane all over again. love it. love my dad. he’s so patient. and you can sorta see their big, beautiful thundercloud that’s on their patio. all pink right now and gorgeous!

friday’s POTD: 008

this picture almost didn’t happen this week. kept forgetting to bring my camera to the bus stop! major yellowness now! not sure what the crazy poser is doing here, but I guess you never really know…

another extra:009I love it when my kids can play outside! love it!\

hey look! it’s shane:010and a cat on the trampoline! yup. shane decided the usual forms of feline torture were not sufficient, so he had to share this little experience with him…013as usual, toby was surprisingly tolerant of the whole experience, but the poor cat WAS a little wigged out:022

saturday’s POTD: 026more of the being dogs thing. layla turned the plastic plates from her play kitchen into frisbees. she even made labels for them. they were taking turns being the human and throwing them for each other (no, nothing was broken in this exercise.), but apparently they reached a point where neither wanted to be the human. there was much growling and tugging going on here. sheesh.

and the final extra picture of the week, and a good one to leave you with:027this is layla, dressed like a super hero. how can you tell? well, duh! she’s wearing her underwear on the outside!

she slept like this, btw.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...