Skip to main content

blah.

i haven’t posted much lately because i haven’t had anything to post that wasn’t depressing. but, i figured i should put up something.

well, the biggest thing right now is that my dear uncle loren passed away last friday. we knew it was getting to be near the end, but not quite that close. thankfully, my husband planned a trip for the kids and i to go down and visit. i have trouble with that sort of planning thing… i’ll say, ‘yeah, i should do that’ but then have trouble actually pulling the trigger. well, he did it all for me, and basically said, you’re leaving tomorrow and you’re staying with barb. we left on thursday morning, got to their house in vancouver in the afternoon, had a little visit, which was SO nice, and then went on to barb’s. as it turned out, he died the next day. i don’t think anyone expected it to happen that fast, but it’s really a blessing. i think everyone’s prayer was that if the Lord was going to take him, that it happen fast, and he not have to live in pain for a long time. goodness i will miss him, but knowing he is in heaven and cancer-free is a wonderful thing to think about. at any rate, his service is this coming friday, so we’re all going down again. i’m really looking forward to spending time with family again, and sharing memories.

of course, all this might have a monkey wrench thrown in (or a spanner, eh kate?) if my kids and their germs won’t cooperate. 2 of 3 are down right now. shane’s got some sort of bad sore throat/headache/looks like it’s moving toward a cold sort of thing, and micah’s got an ear infection. again. he was in to the dr. a couple weeks ago because he woke up w/ his eye glued shut and it turned out to be, not only conjunctivitis, but also both ears infected. we went in yesterday for a re-check, now that he’s finished his meds, and he’s got another infection in the right ear. lame. doc said it could be an entirely new infection. either way, it needs to go away. he’s very grumpy right now, and hasn’t been sleeping well – guess we know why, now – and i’d really love to have happy micah back.

so far layla’s okay, but i’m holding my breath at this point!

we have some pseudo-house guests right now. i say pseudo, because they’ve got their motor-home parked in our driveway. but we still see plenty of them and the kids are having fun (mostly) playing together. layla calls noah her ‘special friend’. it’s pretty cute.

what else? anything?

i’ve got a couple of new knitting projects going right now. one is a lace shawl that might be proving more complicated than i have the patience to deal with… at least while trying to be social. at this point it seems to be a ‘lock yourself in a room alone’ kind of project. i currently have about 4 rows that i have to take out, so it’s on hold because i’d rather knit than un-knit. so i’ve got some bamboo sock(s) going as well. i’m really enjoying this project. hopefully i’ll have pictures to post of something soon!

oh, and the weather SUCKS! it’s been nothing but gloom and rain for weeks now and nothing too promising in the foreseeable future. like in the 55*-65* range. blech! i’m really ready for it to be summer.

Comments

  1. Spanner in the works... love it! Rachel and her Britishisms!

    I hope the kids get well quick Rachel and have as pleasant a trip this Friday as can be!

    Just keep knitting girlfriend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sorry to hear about your uncle. Also, kids being sick=big bummer.
    It'll be nice to see finished product for your project! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...