Skip to main content

yesterday

so yesterday turned out different than it was supposed to. it wasn’t a horrible day, just a little odd, and frustrating at times.

i had planned to do school w/ shane in the morning (my mom was attending a funeral) and then spending the rest of the day outside. perhaps making my way to the park playdate for a picnic lunch, if shane finished in time. nothing major planned, and i figured we’d just wing it and see what came our way. well…

dave has been out sick for a few days now, and he finally decided to go to the dr. yesterday. so he asked me to drive him downtown to his appt. and then possibly back home, or to work. his appt. was at 10:20, so i gave shane his spelling test after breakfast, had him bring a book in the car and headed downtown. the kids need sandals, so i figured i’d do a little shopping while in the city. so i dropped dave off, and embarked on one of my least favorite things in the entire world. driving downtown. i know i sound like some weinie, suburban soccer mom here, but i seriously HATE driving downtown. it’s not that i get lost or disoriented, and i understand the one-way streets and all that. what i hate is 1) all the pedestrians that take very seriously that THEY have the right of way, and 2) the fact that stoplights are on the side of the road, rather than hanging across the middle. i’m always afraid i’m going to hit someone who is crossing while i’m looking for something, or checking my blind spot or something like that, and then i will have mowed someone down and it’ll be my fault, even though they jumped out in front of me. and i’m always almost not noticing the lights because they’re not where i’m accustomed to seeing them. but anyway i didn’t manage to get in any accidents or hit any pedestrians, but i did spend way too long trying to find parking garages that didn’t exist. well, they do, i just remembered where they were wrong, and therefore was unable to find them where i thought they were. so, swearing under my breath and gripping the steering wheel with my stressed-out-gray-hair-inducing grip, i finally spotted a garage under westlake center, drove around the block again to get to it and parked. i grabbed the stroller and my purse (oh, and the kids), and headed out. i went to payless shoes first because i wanted some relatively cheap-o sandals for micah. we walked in the door and layla promptly announces that she needs to go potty. i told her to wait a few minutes because i knew they didn’t have a bathroom and we were going to a department store next where she could go. so i quickly grab a couple pairs in what i thought was micah’s size and she shows up, pee dripping down her legs, “um, mommy, i kind of peed in my pants a little”. nice. i had left her spare clothes in the car too. so i pulled micah out of the stroller and threw her in. i figured it would be disturbing for everyone out on the street to see her walking around with soaked shorts. couldn’t find any i liked in his size, so we left. at this point, dave tells me he’s done at the dr. and is walking to his office. i was furious at this point because i’m thinking, “you’re walking to work? great! i just paid how much to park so i could shop downtown for no reason?” but he says that he’s only going in to the office to check if there’s any pressing business he needs to take care of. so we wait outside for a while, and then i decide to head over to nordstrom to see if they’ve got any crocs for the kids. as it turned out, the smallest size is the size we already have at home (layla’s old ones) which are a little too big for micah still, layla is in between two sizes (one is too small, one is huge), and the kids dept. doesn’t sell them big enough for shane, and the men’s dept. where they sent us, doesn’t carry them at all. so dave met us at nordstrom, we walked back to the parking garage, and paid $10 to get out. RIDICULOUS!!! i was furious! at any rate, we came home, shane did his work, we lazed around and had a pleasant afternoon and evening.

oh, and the diagnosis? dave has a probable ulcer. which just seems ridiculous. he’s not exactly a pot of coffee kind of guy, and he’s not super stressed or anything. he laughed that if either of us would be likely to have an ulcer, it would be me!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...