Skip to main content

mother’s day, the zoo, and the ‘joys’ of immodest dressing…

so yesterday was mother’s day. my family was very nice to me. shane had plotted to get me an angel food cake pan, apparently ever since easter when we discovered i didn’t have one. so he used his own money and bought me one, along with a cake mix. then he asked if we had any strawberries and informed layla that she DID NOT get to help me make the angel food cake, he did. layla (and presumably dave and micah as well) got me a new willow tree statue to replace the one she broke a few weeks ago when she climbed up on the wood stove and tried to pull some pictures down off the mantle to look at. so that was nice.

dave had a soccer game at 2:45 in greenlake, so i had the BRILLIANT idea that we should all go with him and i would take the kids to the zoo, which is right up the road. well, by the time we woke up micah, changed his diaper, discovered that layla was wearing too-big rain boots instead of regular shoes and then located a pair of regular shoes, grabbed a snack for shane who had neglected to eat any lunch, and finally got in the car, we were, of course, running late. so i had dave park near the soccer fields and we would just ‘walk up the hill’ to the zoo.  HA! that hill doesn’t seem too bad when you’re driving it, but it’s a HUFF when you’re walking and pushing a stroller.  but we got there and the kids wanted to see the new penguin exhibit and layla wanted to see giraffes. that was our agenda.

i can’t say i was too impressed with the penguins. everything seemed too high for kids to see… or short parents.  there were some cool spots to look underwater and see them swim by, but overall, i didn’t get to see much. of course it was PACKED with people and maybe i just wasn’t able to navigate around all of them to get to a good spot. at any rate, that was kind of frustrating. after that, we went to see the day and night exhibit. layla loves the nocturnal animals. she also informed me that she wants to live with the turtles. she had thought deeply about this because she, very seriously added that she would have to wear her swimsuit so she could swim with them. but turtles don’t need to wear swimsuits because their shells are their swimsuits… don’t you love it? then dave called and said he was finished with the game so it was time to head for the exit. there is NO direct route to the exit, so we meandered around and managed to pass the giraffe barn on the way, and they happened to be outside the barn, so layla was happy to check that off her list.

bill and marie were kind enough to bring dave up the hill to the zoo to get his keys from me (yeah, good thinking!) and then back down the hill to the car so he could pick us up. they won their game and dave scored a goal so all was good on that end.

my experience at the zoo was highlighted by the astounding abundance of BAD TASTE in people’s wardrobes. now this isn’t just me being the fashion police here, because i really could care less if people’s clothes are trendy or not. i was totally flabbergasted by the serious lack of any sort of modesty that way too many women exhibited. i saw more boob yesterday than i really ever need to. what is it that causes women to feel the need to show the world almost their entire chests? i realize that often times women who are well-endowed have trouble finding shirts that fit well, but that’s not an excuse to wear a shirt that is 4 sizes too small for them and would not cover them up even if it was in their size! and then there was the teenage girls who were wearing “shorts”, if you dare to call them that. “a tiny piece of fabric that barely covers the butt” might be a more accurate name for them. and actually, if it weren’t for how tight they were, i think there might have been some cheek hanging out. 

is this just me being old? do other people find this sort of thing inappropriate? or is it just me. maybe i’m just hyper-aware of this sort of stuff because i have an almost 10 year old son with me and i am starting think about the stuff he looks at and whether or not it’s appropriate. but it’s the zoo! it’s not a night club. this is supposed to be a family venue, is it not? so if you can’t take your family to the zoo without being accosted by partial nudity, where can you go?  i don’t know… maybe we need to move to alaska where people will at least be wearing coats! sheesh!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...