Skip to main content

boy, does this ever make me feel stupid

i’ve never claimed to be the smartest person in the world, but i’m not exactly an idiot.  i went to college – for a long time, i haven’t exactly lived under a rock, i function well in day to day society, but lately i feel SO STUPID! why, you ask? because of one phrase i hear a lot of lately…

“in this economy…”

i just don’t get it.  i mean, i get the general idea of economics… buying, selling, investing, consumer trends, etc.  but what exactly is an economy, like as a noun.  and i don’t understand what makes it bad or good.

or maybe i’m just too poor to know when things are bad or good.

my dad was a stock broker originally.  his degree is in finance.  i grew up having the nightly business report and wall street week imposed upon me on a regular basis.  but i will NEVER understand the stock market.  how sometimes stock is worth more and sometimes less, how things lose value.  how money loses value, for that matter.  the whole idea swims around in my head in a big swirl of green and red arrows and dollar signs and 3 letter abbreviations and makes me crazy.  i just can’t wrap my mind around it.  i obviously have no investments.

and then now, we’re supposedly in a bad economy, it’s the fault of the president (that i will never get either), and major companies are laying people off.  there’s terms being thrown around like ‘downturn’ and ‘instability’ and ‘economic stimulus’. 

okay, i get the idea of the economic stimulus thing.  we got a check last year because of it.  so the government gives people money (their own) in hopes that they will go be good little consumers and buy stuff which will make the suppliers happy because people are buying their stuff.  right.

but now, major companies are closing or downsizing.  people are tightening their belts – i guess because they’re afraid of losing their jobs – and watching their spending.

so, the way i see it, people are afraid of losing their jobs, so they don’t buy stuff, so the companies that make and sell that stuff will not do well, and therefore have to lay off employees or shut down. 

does this seem like one of those proverbial chicken-or-egg scenarios to anyone else?  or am i missing something major here.  i must be, because i sure feel stupid a lot of the time.

Comments

  1. I think EVERYONE even the "experts" are completely and utterly confused with all of it! HA HA I also think alot of it has to do with the media...they say "OH NO" and everyone else says "OH NO"...to a certian extent anyway. Domino effect! Just smile and nod, just smile and nod! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I get it to a certain extent. Having previously been affiliated with the construction business (which was one of the first industries to experience the downturn) I saw it coming. The housing crisi came first. Too many banks were giving loans to people they shouldn't have for houses. Now those people can't afford their mortgages, so they foreclose. Banks tighten the belt around who qualifies for loans, so less home sales, and less home improvement. Down goes contruction business, real estate business. Now the domjino effect happens. The banks that gave out the original loans are going bankrupt because of all the defaults. People who lost jobs and homes can't pay their credit card bills, there goes those companies, and so on down the line.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...