Skip to main content

can someone please explain to me…

… how THIS qualifies as a dress:

_5644528 ????????

i mean, i realize that it’s probably a sure sign of getting older when you go shopping and statements like that go through your head, but really?  why would somebody wear that?  what’s with the band around the bottom?  i find the thickness of that band kind of comical, but most of them look like this:

_5685029 what the heck?

it’s grotesquely reminiscent of 5th grade when the big thing was super long sweatshirts worn with stirrup pants.  because that sort of thing is just so flattering to someone’s body shape.  apparently the pear-with-chicken-legs image is all the rage this year.  who looks good in this?  skinny people? no.  fat people? no. who???  even the models in the pictures look ridiculous!

this is what i encountered when i went shopping for a dress last night.  it’s funny to see how trends change.  i’m not claiming that everyone had the best taste when i was in high school… fortunately, none of those pictures are digital, so i can’t put them up for scrutiny.  but short dresses are definitely the in thing now, as opposed to a couple years ago when everything was very LONG.  that era was actually pretty nice.  people looked very elegant in those long, simple dresses.  now we get stuff like this:

_5764817

yeah.  i had a good time last night. 

i took about 15 dresses into the dressing room – none of them looked like THAT – although a couple did have me laughing outright once i put them on. 

i was amused (but impressed as well) by the fact that so many of the dresses come with the boobs already in them!  it’s great for people like me who don’t come with our own.

also, i learned that, if you’re having trouble getting it ON, by all means, STOP!!!  trust me, it’s even harder to get it off.  apparently zippers are not IN this year.

so i did successfully get a dress.  i don’t think i look ridiculous in it and i’m pretty sure i’ll be able to get in and out of it with relative ease.  i also got a FABULOUS satin trench coat that i’m super excited about!

i’ll do my best to try and get some pictures of us tonight.  oh, and i found out there’s a 3 free-drink limit this year.  up from last year’s 2.  that should be amusing!  i might not make it though dinner!

Comments

  1. Dying to see YOUR dress and have a super great night tonight!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh I am SO with you on those stupid looking dresses! My teenage cousin wore one similar to the top one this summer, and although she has the perfect little 16 year old shape the dress made her look pear shaped and just ODD...I agree, flashback to oversized sweatshirts and stirrup pants (all that is missing is leg warmers and the fantastic side pony tail!)

    Have fun at the party tonight and I also can't wait to see pictures!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I actually saw a girl (very pretty) at the grocery store today wearing one of those ridiculous dresses and *sheer* *stirrup* *pants*.

    Why is this coming back? It's not flattering on anyone!

    So where are the pictures of you and your fabulous gown?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...