Skip to main content

it just keeps getting better...

so obviously, from my earlier post, the dinner-making portion of my day was a little less than spectacular. 

oh, that was just the beginning.

dave worked late today.

after dinner, i ran a bath for the younger 2 and in the process of getting them from the dining room to the bathroom, micah knocked the container of cheerios off the table and they dumped ALL OVER the floor.  i scooped up what i could and threw it back in the container, then, mindful that the water was still running in the tub and i didn't want to flood the bathroom, i herded the kids into the bathroom and dumped them into the tub.

i went back into the dining room and proceeded to sweep up the mound of cheerios that was left on the floor, all the while keeping an ear open for both voices and giggles in the bathroom (as long as you can hear them, their heads are above water, right?).  that took all of about 2 minutes.

i looked in on them (both happy as could be) and discovered that both of my younger, happy children were sitting in a tub full of murky poo water.  complete with floaters.  apparently micah had unloaded and layla hadn't noticed yet since she was using a toy boat to dump *water* over both their heads.

i stood there, staring at the tub, in a full-on panic, and like any intelligent, college-educated person, said, "oh! oh! oh! oh! oh! oh!"

i grabbed layla out and stood her on the bath mat, dripping wet.  my eloquent description of what was going on (see above) had piqued shane's interest enough to take a break from his computer game to see what was going on. 

THANK GOD FOR SHANE!

i told him to go turn on the shower in the other bathroom, threw a bottle of shampoo at him and sent layla in to get clean and unpooey in there.

i turned my attention to micah, still sitting in all his pooey glory, happily playing with pooey bath toys.  i had no idea what to do.  i flipped the switch to drain the tub, and pondered my options.  i could take him out, but he's covered in poo and whatever i put him near will also become covered in poo.  so i just left him there, because, really, the bathtub was already covered in poo, and at least it's contained, right?  so while i'm waiting for the tub to drain, micah played with his poo and i called dave and swore never to speak to him again.  because it's his fault, right?

so i got to use the 'pressure wash' setting on my hand-held shower head again to clean out the tub.  micah wasn't very fond of it (since he was still in the tub when i was using it - no, i didn't spray him with it).  you could say it scared the *you know what* out of him, except it was already out.  so after traumatizing him with that, i switched back to regular spray and cleaned him up.  cleaned him up good.

just another day, right?

Comments

  1. Sounds like you had a very eventful night. I am sure that David was super excited to come home to all of that. I know Joe would get the brunt of my wrath if that had been my night! :) If it doesn't kill us and we don't kill them it makes us stronger, right?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I know I already commented but one last thing...being a parent SUCKS! So sorry that you had to do that.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like you and I were living in the same alternate universe the other night.

    Until the boys get used to the time change, I've started feeding them dinner anytime between 4:30 and 5:30. That has the added bonus of getting them into bed earlier, but also the drawback of them getting up earlier in the morning.

    ReplyDelete
  4. rachel ~ officially that is the best form of birth control i have heard you and christy are sooo right! Eew! i am so sorry that poo is part of motherhood! i'm sure you handled it much better then i ever will. hope you guys are doing good. it was so nice seeing you at the baptism!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...