Skip to main content

cooking for moms 101

does anyone else have this experience?  sometime between 4:00 and 4:15pm, some magic switch, somewhere, is thrown.  it's the "mom's-trying-to-cook-dinner-now-so-i-need-something-anything-not-for-any-specific-reason-other-than-she-needs-to-do-something-else-so-i-must-have-her-attention-right-now-and-i'm-getting-very-upset-and-am-going-to-make-it-as-difficult-as-i-possibly-can-for-her-and-enlist-the-help-of-my-siblings-while-i'm-at-it" switch.  i would say that 6 out of 7 nights a week, whatever dinner preparations i make, are done with micah attached to one or both of my legs.  it makes navigating between the fridge, stove, sink, and counter so much easier! 

open fridge to pull out food = pull micah out of the fridge so i can close it.

open cupboard to get out a pot = micah emptying the rest of the pots onto the floor.

get ingredients out of upper cupboards = removing layla from the countertop.

getting a knife out of the dishwasher = pulling micah out of the dishwasher so i can close it.

combine ingredients in a bowl or pot = layla stirring them until they slop out.

walk across kitchen to get a utensil out of the drawer = drag a not-quite-walking, but crying micah across with me.

standing in front of the stove to cook anything = pick up the dishtowels off the floor for the 400th time.

putting something in the oven = keeping micah a safe distance away while checking shane's homework because he's in a hurry to get out the door.

getting something from off the top of the fridge = no, you can't have any more candy!

seriously!  micah, the kid that never cries, falls apart every time i try to cook.  layla, the kid who never eats dinner, wants every snack she can find while i'm trying to make dinner and falls apart when i say no.  and shane, if no friends are available to play with, finds nothing better to do with his time then torment layla and ask for snacks.  geez!

well, now that dinner is actually in the oven, i have to figure out why micah is wailing, put my kitchen back together, and somehow get stuff into the dishwasher while keeping micah out of it.  then we get to eat.  that's even more fun.

Comments

  1. I am using the crockpot a lot. I feed Monkey breakfast in his highchair in the kitchen while I throw "what's for dinner" in the CP. Works for us. For now. :)

    You are such a mom, Rach! I love it!

    xx--Amy

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...