Skip to main content

Road Trip Day 15

We managed to escape further storms overnight, but stuff was still very wet: beds, towels, bathing suits from swimming in Nashville on Friday.... we needed to dry out and the weather wasn't cooperating. We all woke up grumpy on Sunday morning. Things didn't improve when Layla and I went to take showers. The shower heads just sprayed everywhere. There was no way to turn them on or adjust them at all without getting totally soaked. And so my pajamas and my Birkenstocks were drenched before I even got in. I also had to stand the entire time on my tip toes to keep from getting fully sprayed in the face the whole time. It did not improve my mood.We did, however, get torn down and loaded up earlier than planned!! We wanted to leave by 9, since we were going to church in the city at 10, and knew we would have to find street parking that would accommodate our van and trailer. We pulled out at 8:45. A true miracle. We drove in and immediately found parking. We were ready at 9:05. And then we discovered that church didn't actually start until 10:15. So we decided to walk around a little and see some of the cool buildings and other old churches in the neighborhood.




When we finally went to church, it was awesome. We had done a little research before the trip. Since we were going to be finding ourselves in St. Louis on a Sunday, I wanted to find a super old, super traditional Lutheran church to attend. This one, Historic Trinity Lutheran Church in Soulard, fit the bill. A bonus was the massive pipe organ.

Everyone was very friendly, and worshiping there was a great way to re-start our day. Our after-church, pre-departure plan was to visit Grant's Farm to see the Clydesdales. It was stiflingly hot, but we had a good time. You have to pay for parking, but otherwise it's free. It is a large piece of land that, at one time, belonged to President Ulysses S. Grant, but now belongs to the Busch family (of Anheuser-Busch) and is used as a zoo/farm/sanctuary for many animals, including several of the famous Budweiser Clydesdales.

We had some snow cones to cool down and wandered the gift shop before hitting the road. From there we drove to Kansas City where we set up camp and discovered the door of the refrigerator in the trailer had popped open at some point during the day and all of our food was warmish. So after sending most of our food to the dumpster, Dave left to go get some new groceries and pick up some BBQ for dinner, the kids went to the pool, and I hit the laundry facilities. By the time we went to bed, we had washed 8 loads of clothes, towels, bedding, bathing suits, and Dave's sweaty cycling stuff. We filled the washers and dryers, plus hung stuff outside and inside the trailer to dry.

 

So happy to have ALL the clothes clean and the towels all dry and no nasty bathing suits. Also, dry beds! License plate stats: still looking for Delaware and Hawaii; 6 provinces.States visited: 16.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...