Skip to main content

one of two options here…

either I hit the jackpot…

or my parenting is an epic fail…

or maybe both.

2 of my 3 kids had to go to the dentist today. micah, for a cleaning and layla, to get some cavities filled. we’re going back on wednesday so shane can have a cleaning and layla can get more cavities filled.

and then micah gets to go back next tuesday.

to get one of about 4 million cavities filled.

WHAT????

sigh.

so, I’m feeling like a total failure as a parent here.

in addition, I’m a little confused.

see, I’ve never had a cavity.

yes, I’m 37 years old, and I’ve never had a cavity. NEVER.

I also never needed braces and I still have all 4 of my wisdom teeth. I realize I’m a bit of a dental freak, here.

but I grew up knowing that I would be TOTALLY BUSTED if I went to the dentist and had a cavity. I don’t know why I knew this, other than apparently my mother did a good job of instilling a horrific fear of cavities in me, and I did my best to comply. I took for granted that if you brushed your teeth and didn’t eat a lot of candy, you wouldn’t get cavities.

that’s what she told me. that’s what I did. it worked.

and of course, the opposite is true of people who DO get cavities right?

the gargle mountain dew all day and keep a stash of jolly ranchers in their pockets at all times.

and they never brush. EVER.

and so… here I am, parent of the year, bringing my cavity-infested, lollipop-drooling children into to the dentist to get poked and prodded and drilled and all that.

I totally suck.

somebody call CPS, because clearly I’m not a fit mother.

but wait.

they DO brush. twice a day.

they get soda, MAYBE once a month, micah even less! any one of my children (or my husband) will tell you that I’m a total sugar nazi. we do not buy candy. ever. they get some at halloween and usually some shows up at christmas or valentine’s day, but not because I bought it. we almost never have dessert. we don’t even have juice!!

what. the. heck???

I felt totally humiliated today, as the hygienist who cleaned micah’s teeth said the words, “I don’t know if he’s getting a lot of pop or candy, or what…”

no! he doesn’t!

but.

yeah. I feel awesome.

so layla got tortured today with an hour and a half long appointment that included a mini root canal. she was only amused by the laughing gas until it actually started. she was plenty numb, so nothing hurt, but keeping your mouth cranked open for that long is not super fun. the worst part of it all was that she had never been though this before, so she was terrified and didn’t know what to expect really. wednesday’s appointment should be much quicker and easier.

013

micah was awesome for his appointment, and chatted the ear off of his hygienist every time he didn’t have something in his mouth. he did give her a bit of a hard time about the pink sunglasses, but eventually agreed he could wear them as long as he didn’t have to keep them. he kept asking her when he got his toothbrush. it’s a good thing he had me laughing so hard, or I might have been crying instead.014

wednesday should be interesting.

all the reminding, nagging, etc. doesn’t seem to influence shane to brush… and he has a way of getting cookies, soda, whatever from friends and grandparents and hobos walking down the street… just kidding about the hobos.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...