Skip to main content

project life 2014–week 8

sunday: after church, we tried to have brunch at the maltby café, but it was over an hour wait for a table, so we wound up at denny’s instead. of course, I had to put the cream in my coffee the proper way… perfected in high school. only once has this turned out badly for me… or rather, for the person sitting across from me.2014-02-261

monday: shane finally decided to pull his big bin of legos out from under his bed and make them community property. awesome timing, as the kids all had a week off of school. 001

wednesday: I had to go to the mall to buy some new shoes for aerobics. I bribed the kids to go with me by promising them something from the food court. layla got a pretzel, micah got a blizzard, and shane and I both got orange julius. there is something about an orange julius (strawberry, actually) while at the mall that just feels right.006

thursday: operation clean off the counter in the laundry room! I found the surface of the counter! that’s a big deal. and sorted through all the stuff we’d saved from layla’s 1st and 2nd grade years. lots and lots of stuff got recycled. 2014-02-262

also thursday: shane and a friend went snowboarding. it has been dumping for over a week up there. crazy amounts of new snow, and it snowed the whole time they were up there, too. he had pretty much the best time ever.014

friday: finally getting layla started on her very own project life album! she is so excited. her pictures arrived in the mail from shutterfly and I got them all sorted out for her. she’s starting with her 2nd grade year, beginning at her 7th birthday. watching her get some much joy out of this process makes me sooooo very happy!!!027

saturday: shane is quite predictable in his interests. cars, trucks, and farm equipment… this cracked me up. I walked past him and peaked over his shoulder… “um. why are you shopping for combines?”034

a couple skinnies:

layla got about 4 inches whacked off her hair on friday, followed by lunch at panera. I thought this was a good plan until micah’s mac and cheese arived and it was the wrong color. OMG. end of the world. I wound up bringing it home and dave ate it for dinner. that kid.

019 022

and a big collage of extras from the week.2014-02-264

book shots: I’m hoping to convince shane to fill in the card for the snowy pic he took while snowboarding.025026

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...