Skip to main content

my clothesline… FINALLY!

people who have known me for a while know that there are certain, random things that I’m totally obsessed with. coffee, bacon, trains, hot air balloons, and… clotheslines.

I first fell in love with clotheslines when dave and I lived in ohio when we were first married. the house we lived in had a pair of metal t-posts in the backyard. you can kind of see them here, in the background behind joe.Picture 144

I immediately became fascinated with them, and dave bought a long line and a pack of clothespins for me at walmart. he strung 4 lines between those two posts, and I obsessively hung out our clothes between may and september. I completely fell in love with it. I would spend hours in the backyard,feeling the warmth and the breeze, smelling the clean clothes, just loving my family and the experience, between sheets and undershirts flapping in the wind.

it was very meditative. very serene. a religious experience of sorts. I felt a bond with my ancestors; women of my family who have been hanging out their families’ washing for generations. there is something so therapeutic about the repetitive action of hanging up clothes.

occasionally, I would forget to take them down at night and they’d just have to stay up the next day, too! since thunderstorms are frequent there, sometimes we’d be out somewhere, and I’d hear thunder rumbling in the distance, on a clear, blue sky day, and I’d remember I had laundry on the line, and I’d have to race the storm home, before my clothes got rained on!

on days when I didn’t have much else going on, it was also a healthy outlet for some OCD tendencies. there were four lines, and there were four of us. so I’d hang each person’s clothes on a different line. (layla was an infant at the time, so usually her line wound up with all the sheets and towels, since here clothes took up the least amount of line real estate.) I’d make my clothespins match. if it took a pair to hang up a shirt, they would both be the same color. yeah, I know. but there are worse ways this could have manifested itself…

when we left ohio, we moved here to the PNW and lived in a condo for 11 months. obviously, no clothesline. I suppose I could have rigged something on the balcony, but instead I bought a couple of accordion folding drying racks that I would line the hall with, and drape our clothes over them. lacking a breeze, this just made the clothes stiff, and the whole experience was a major let down. I missed my clotheslines.

when we moved to our last house, I was hopeful. I kept hinting. nothing happened. we got the dome climber for the kids, and I occasionally took that over on nice days. it wasn’t the same.

020

and I was prone to fits of jealousy when the weather got nice and friends who did have clotheslines would start using them and post about it.

well, after 7 years of lamenting the loss of my clotheslines, my wonderful husband finally came through! on saturday, he went to the hardware store to grab… uh. I can’t even remember why he went there now. but I got a text from him, asking me to go out and measure the length of the area between the two points I’d envisioned hanging my line.

woohoo!

that afternoon, while I was with layla at her ballet recital, they got it hung up for me.

133

so of course, the first thing I did sunday morning was to yank all the sheets of the beds and throw them in the washer. because really, the best thing in the world to line dry is sheets.143138

we discovered that our line is so long that it sags in the middle without something to prop it up. eventually, that will be a post of some sort. for now:003

yup, a plastic, fisher-price basketball hoop. classy.

but……001002

isn’t it wonderful?

I’m so excited that, for the next 4 months, doing laundry will revolve around the weather forecast!

swoon.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...