Skip to main content

project life– april 2012

so, this is what the month of april (minus the 29th and 30th) look like in the binder. as always, the way I do things is evolving. part of me loves that flexibility, another part (the compulsive part) is completely annoyed by it because it’s not the same all the way through the year… oh well, hopefully I’ll live!

week 14: nothing too super shocking or unusual. I have 1 8x10 collage of extra pics from the week, and on the back side of that, I have the class newsletter that mentions that layla was the student of the week.009010

week 15: this was a busy, photo-happy week. sunday was easter, so I have a whole 8x10 collage dedicated to that day. on the back of that are 2 weekly vocab tests of shane’s on which he got 100%. then we have an 8x10 collage of pics from the long day we spent at marymoor, and on the back of that I have a 5x7 of the week’s extra pics and a 5x7 collage of layla practicing monkey bar technique on our backyard dome climber.011012013

week 16: and this is where stuff gets weird. I discovered instagram this week and went a little nuts. I also have decided to be a little less anal with the whole 1 pic + 1 journaling card EVERY day. there are a couple of reasons for this – some pictures are self-explanatory, and I always have some vertical pics that I want to include, and I’m also really getting burned out on the big collages. they’re just not doing it for me lately. so, I have made good use of the journaling cards that I did use, often including more than one picture’s journaling on a card, with liberal use of the nifty arrow stickers. I also found these awesome pocket pages that have 20 2x2 openings that are perfect for instagram pics. I collaged 6 on a 4x6 print and then cropped them into individual squares. awesome.014015

week 17: this week I decided to keep a running ‘log’ or diary of what went on during the week. I had seen several different ways of doing this from others and I really liked the idea. what I didn’t like, is that all of those were typed up and I am just super compulsive about the hand written stuff. this is why I will probably never switch completely to digital scrapbooking. so I decided to just write a little something each day on a sheet of notebook paper and included that. I’m not sure yet that I love it, and I’m having a definite dilemma over whether I want that sheet in the front of the instagram page, or in back. and I’m totally aware that I’m spending entirely too much time and mental energy obsessing about that! ;)016017018

that’s it for april. I’ll include the last 2 days in my may post because it’s more concise that way.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...