Skip to main content

how to make a smoothie

I’ve written about smoothies a couple of times before, here and here. my posts evolve, as my smoothies do. but after a discussion last night about making good smoothies, I decided to document the one I made today. (still enjoying it, btw.)

I generally make them with whatever fruit I happen to have around, and I always keep fruit of some sort in the freezer. adding frozen fruit to smoothies is just absolutely the best idea ever because you don’t have to add ice cubes if you want that cold, frothy, shake feel to it.

generally, if I’m just making a smoothie for myself, I do it in my magic bullet. if I’m making more than one, I use the huge, loud, clunky blender. their mixing abilities are about the same, and I prefer the easy cleanup of the bullet when it’s just for me.

since I found out that I have a dairy allergy or sensitivity and that yogurt and whey were very high numbers for me, I have not been able to add any yogurt. I used to always put in some plain greek yogurt, just for the texture and the protein. oh well. so now I’m a little at a loss for how to get some extra protein into it, since the obvious whey powder is out. sometimes I pulverize some nuts to add. today I did almonds and pecans.001

now, the bullet does this pretty well. 002 however, if you happen to have one of the really COOL vitamix blenders that they sell at costco and are on sale right now and come in RED, then you can do this without being left with a bunch of nut carcasses that you have to pick out and set aside since they didn’t get ground up. just sayin’…004 so I added that, plus a spoonful of milled flax seed to my cup. I already had half an orange (which was in the fridge and needed to be used up), and 4 or 5 big spinach leaves.005 then I threw in a bunch of frozen berries. raspberries from my garden last summer, marionberries from costco, and blueberries from safeway.  I really really like putting raspberries in. just gives it a good tangy taste that I love. however, if you DON’T have a good pulverizing blender like the vitamix which is on sale and comes in RED, and you have a problem with chunky, seedy textures, you might want to avoid fruits with a lot of seeds like raspberries. 006 then I add a splash of vanilla extract and fill up the cup with unsweetened coconut milk. almond milk is good too, and if you can do dairy, cow’s milk is just fine. now seriously, you don’t have to sweeten it. fruit is sweet. our society would be a lot better off if we could come to terms with this and stop adding sugar to everything. retrain your taste buds! you really don’t have to add the vanilla, either, but I like how it just seems to bring out all the flavors a little more. 007 and then you blend. and blend and blend. until it is satisfactorily blended.008 hard to see, because I do not have a fabulous camera (tempted to put a plug in here for the canon rebel we really really want, but I’ll restrain myself) and I am not a good food photographer, but the finished texture is a little chunky. mostly seeds from the fruit, and a little bit of the white stuff from the orange. but really, it’s very well mixed. you can adjust the thickness with the amount of liquid you put in. I like to make mine a little less thick because when you have more liquid, it blends better and faster. I’m impatient. AND, for those of you who were panicked about the fact that I was putting spinach in there, notice the lack of big, scary, green chunks. (fyi, if you’re making this for your kids, only let them see you putting in fruit that they like. you can hide all sorts of other good stuff in there, but if they’re anything like mine, as soon as they see something ‘yucky’ go in there, the whole smoothie is ruined, whether they can taste it or not.)

so there you go. smoothie 101. or maybe 201? I don’t know. or maybe smoothie 101 with the paleo emphasis… right. I kinda want to go back to school. can you tell?

Comments

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...