Skip to main content

shameless plug: I love the shark steam mop!

I’m going to rave about something here, you’ll have to forgive me. I find it kind of funny that the thing I’m raving about is something that I don’t actually own. it belongs to my parents. I just use it.

allow me to explain. I do cleaning for my parents at their house approximately 3 hours a week (generally, 1 hour, 3 mornings a week when I’m there dropping shane off anyway). nothing major, just maintenance. I clean the bathroom, kitchen dust and vacuum the living room, do some laundry, etc. just to help them out (oh, and they pay me, too). my dad does a lot of gardening. they have a cat that goes in and out all day long. my mom complains (legitimately) that the floor is always dirty and wanted me to mop it EVERY time I was there. well, that’s a pain. I’m not really that fond of mopping. you know, the whole bucket and a mop (and an illustrated book about birds… sorry, it just came out) thing, and the dumping dirty water down the toilet, and lugging a big bucket around, and the floor being wet for like 4 hours after (that might be a bit of an exaggeration)… all in all, mopping is a pain.

so I told my parents they should get a shark steam mop, and I’d be happy to use it every time I was there.

so they did.

and sometimes I get to borrow it! because they’re nice to me like that.

so here is what I like about the shark steam mop:

  • no bucket!
  • floors dry almost instantly
  • lightweight
  • long cord
  • no chemicals – just water
  • super easy to use
  • nothing to throw away – pads are completely reusable
  • makes a cool whooshing noise! yeah, I’m a nerd.
  • works! see:004

disgusting, huh? I know my floors needed to be mopped, but I didn’t think it was that bad. it’s not like I live in a huge house either, and most of it is carpeted.

there are few things that could be better:

  • handle is a little flimsy, but nothing terrible
  • head is too wide to fit between the toilet and wall
  • head doesn’t swivel
  • pads can only be washed w/ liquid laundry detergent

that last complaint is only an issue because my parents are die-hard powdered detergent users. so I take the pads home with me and wash them here. or I wash them by hand (not quite as effective).

this is just the basic model. I know there are fancier steam mops that shark sells too. I’m sure I’d love those even more!

okay, thank you for listening to my little anthem of adoration about the shark steam mop!

Comments

  1. They do make one that has the triangular head that makes it easier to clean around the toilet or into corners. It is the pocket one too so it is double sided. I am perfectly happy with the one that you have in the picture. I kind of prefer running a bleach wipe around the bottom of the toilet anyway. Having boys in the house makes it kind of necessary. :)
    Totally worth every penny. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...