Skip to main content

I want YOU…

Uncle-Sam

…to try Project Life!

as you know, I’ve started using PL for this year, and I LOVE it. if you didn’t know that, you can read all about my love fest with PL here. I happen to like doing the photo-a-day method, with each page featuring a week of our life, and the completed book will be a a concise chapter of our family’s life for the year 2011. I think it’s awesome. it alleviates SO much guilt I was feeling about NOT scrapbooking or doing anything to organize, document, preserve, and display all the pictures I take of my family and the stuff we do as we live out our daily lives. I’m doing it as it happens. I print pictures EVERY week. and put it in and journal about each one, so I don’t get behind. altogether, I’d say I spend MAYBE an hour per week on this project. I LOVE doing it this way.

BUT… you don’t have to.

I follow becky higgins’ (the creator of PL) blog, and today she had a post featuring some of the many different ways people are using project life, to fit their own needs.

read it. seriously. there is so much flexibility and you can use it to suit your needs/wants/dreams, whatever they may be.

and here’s the thing. you can be as creative or not creative as you want to be. you can be as artistic or not artistic as you are. you don’t have to be exceptionally well organized. you don’t have to have a lot of “stuff” or space or tools or even TIME, or all those reasons people usually give me about why they want to do something with their pictures but don’t.

and here’s the OTHER thing. are you a hardcore scrapbooker? did you used to be? do you have a lot of “stuff” and tools and the like? yup. me too. remember, I used to be a creative memories consultant. in NO WAY am I knocking traditional scrapbooking. I have spent many hours (and dollars) on traditional scrapbooking and I have loved every minute of it. I still, very much, love and recommend creative memories albums and products. but realistically, I know that all of those excuses people have always used for why they can’t/won’t scrapbook ARE LEGIT. back when I only had 1 kid, I didn’t think they were. hahaha! there’s a lot of stuff I didn’t think was legit when I only had one kid. LOL. stuff like picky eaters and drawing on the wall, and potty training nightmares… (not that my kids do ANY of that stuff… ahem.) my point is this. you can use as much or as little of that “stuff” as you want. you can crop and mount and embellish your photos and layouts as much as you want… but you don’t have to. you can spend time and plan and get all artistic if you want… but you don’t have to.

consider it. seriously. you won’t be sorry.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...